Page 1 of 1

RUN Command: Where do you code it ?

Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 6:46 am
by jazzer1
I see from the documentation that you can use the RUN command to execute another map. It also says that you can code it in a component rule or map rule. My second map is ready to run. The inputs and outputs are already defined. All I need to do is code RUN("Map02",""). Where does this go? Thank you.

Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 7:16 am
by jgibby
We make extensive use of the RUN command to chain our maps together here. You can put the RUN command in any formula to call another map. The second parameter allows you to override most of the input & output card settings of the map you are calling, making for a most dynamic environment that you can control. You can also receive data back from the map you called, but it will come back only as text, not in type tree object form of the output card(s). You need to specify the compiled map name and full path if it is in another directory (ie. \dir1\dir2\mapname.mmc).

John

Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 7:50 am
by jazzer1
The only formula I have is =LEAVEPRINT(Rec01). This is in the output rule
of my first extract. How do I code it and/or where ?
The syntax is RUN("Extract2",""). Do you conatentate it to the first formula ?

Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 8:21 am
by jazzer1
I got it....I added a component to the output tree definition and put the
RUN statement in there. In the map, the output card looks like this:

Output Rule
-------------------------------------------
Extract(s) =(LEAVEPRINT(Record01)
RunJob =Run("Job2"."")