Running data stage jobs in parallel

Archive of postings to DataStageUsers@Oliver.com. This forum intended only as a reference and cannot be posted to.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm

admin

Running data stage jobs in parallel

Post by admin »

Hi,

Im fairly new to DataStage, but have worked with Informaticas PowerMart for a couple of years. In PowerMart, I had the ability to run the same mapping (code base) using different parameters (as defined in the session). Is there a way to do the same thing in DataStage? If so, can I run the same DataStage job with different parameters concurrently.

I have an AR/AP warehouse that is pulling from a large number of similar billing systems (13, eventually). What I am looking to do is define staging jobs for each source, and then create common jobs to load the actual warehouse tables (thereby only having to do the lookup logic once). Does anyone out there have experience with this?

thanks in advance,

jason
admin

Post by admin »

It sounds like two different questions:
1. Can you assign Job Parameters to DataStage jobs?
2. Can you run DataStage jobs in parallel?

1. DataStage supports Job Parameters in many fields throughout DataStage jobs. Some fields allow selection through a button "Add Parameter" and others simply by adding
#[parametername]# to a field. Often, you can embed multiple parameters for unusual structures or can name different types. To define a parameter, look under the Edit/Job Properties menu item.

If you add a parameter as a string constant in SQL, you may have to surround it with quotes like #[parametername]#

Job Parameter explanations are all over the documentation.

2. Yes, you can run DataStage jobs in parallel. Different jobs can run simultaneously with ease and the same job can be run concurrently (in different ways in DataStage 4 and DataStage 5). I frequently multistream jobs using Job Parameters and Job Control.