Page 1 of 2

Error with Universe Stage

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:58 pm
by velagapudi_k
Hi folks I am expiriencing the following error with Universe stage.

UniVerse_61.DSLink62: DSD.BCIOpenW call to SQLExecDirect failed.
CREATE TABLE "mapping"("maptype" CHAR(10) NOT NULL, "sApplicationName" VARCHAR(30), "sApplicationId" DECIMAL(12, 0), "sTableName" VARCHAR(30), "sTableId" DECIMAL(12, 0), "sDataElementName" VARCHAR(30), "sDataElementId" DECIMAL(12, 0), "tApplicationName" VARCHAR(30), "tApplicationId" DECIMAL(12, 0), "tTableName" VARCHAR(30), "tTableId" DECIMAL(12, 0), "tDataElementName" VARCHAR(30), "tDataElementId" DECIMAL(12, 0))
SQLSTATE=42000, DBMS.CODE=950338
[DataStage][SQL Client][UNIVERSE]DataStage/SQL: "VMW-DWETL02\\velag001" is not an SQL user.

This job is created by different user and I think he doesnt have any problems. Apparently VMW-DWETL02 is the box where DS is sitting on and velag001 is my login. Looks like a permission issue. Can any one let me know what to do.

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:02 pm
by diamondabhi
You gave the answer for ur question, ask ur DBA to give you the required access.

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:08 pm
by velagapudi_k
We are talking about universe stage not any regular DB. Assume I am the admin, what can I do with in Datastage?

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:29 pm
by diamondabhi
Try to login to the universe through TCL . Are you able to do so?
If not then you might need to check your permissions and see which groups u need to be in.

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:01 pm
by ray.wurlod
You may be the Administrator, but are you the DBA?

Code: Select all

SELECT * FROM UV_USERS WHERE DBAAUTH = 'YES';
to find out.

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:28 pm
by velagapudi_k
Hi Ray, this is my first project where DS is on windows. In Unix
we can use cd $DSHOME or cd `cat \.dshome` depending on OS.
I dont know which commands I can use in windows. Can anybody pls let me know or guide me through those commands.

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:57 pm
by ray.wurlod
You can use all "UniVerse" commands on both UNIX and Windows.

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 7:26 pm
by velagapudi_k
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd `cat \.dshome`
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd $DSHOME
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

This is what Iam getting when I am using the command prompt.
Pls let me know how to get in to DSHome.

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:55 pm
by ray.wurlod
You're on Windows. Windows does not have a cat command (though there is on in MKS Toolkit, which you might have installed). DataStage on Windows does not record the installation directory in /.dshome - rather it uses a Registry entry.

Try

Code: Select all

 cd C:\Ascential\DataStage\Engine

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:01 am
by kumar_s
Perhaps you can try the same from Datastage Administrator client window command line.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:23 am
by velagapudi_k
Hi I am not the DBA.


E:\Ascential\DataStage\Engine>bin\uv
DataStage Command Language 7.5
Copyright (c) 1997 - 2004 Ascential Software Corporation. All Rights Reserved
Engine logged on: Wednesday, April 19, 2006 09:45

>SELECT * FROM UV_USERS WHERE NAME='velag001';

User Name.......... velag001
DBauth Privilege... NO
Resource Privilege. YES
Author............. velag001
Own-Table Schema.. Owned Tables......

Perm-Table Schema. Permitted Tables..

When I tried to give myself DBAUTH, It gave me following message


>UPDATE UV_USERS SET DBAUTH='YES' WHERE NAME='velag001';
WRITE attempt on read-only file.
>

When I tried to give DBAUTH with the help of other guy who has DBAUTH=YES, even he got the same above message.
i.e WRITE attempt on read-only file.

Pls help me

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:28 am
by kumar_s
But what is the id you use to login?
Try using dsadm.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:29 am
by ArndW
You need to use the GRANT command to effect this. Try GRANT DBA TO velag001;

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:29 am
by velagapudi_k
I am the admin. I installed the DS on that machine

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:33 am
by kumar_s
Arnd - Isnt it giving prompt while tyring update to UV_USERS.
velagapudi - BTW what if you query >SELECT DBAUTH FROM UV_USERS WHERE NAME='velag001'; now.