Failed to compile test harness

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
poorna_76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:42 am

Failed to compile test harness

Post by poorna_76 »

Hi All,

All of a sudden all my routines in VersionControl are failing compilation:

TEST #1
*******

Arg1 = ste!ve

Failed to compile test harness

Compiling: Source = 'DSU_BP/TSTValidateName^^1_1.B', Object = 'DSU_BP.O/TSTValidateName^^1_1.B'

0001 DEFFUN ValidateName^1_1(Arg1) CALLING "DSU.ValidateName"

^
'^' unexpected, Was expecting: ';', End of Line

1 Errors detected, No Object Code Produced.


Any thoughts?

Thanks in Advance.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Lose the Version Control tags (^1_1) in DEFFUN statements.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

You can't compile anything 'checked into' a Version Control project, nor should you need to.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

That too.

Compile in development. Test in test. Promote with Version Control.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
poorna_76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:42 am

Post by poorna_76 »

ray.wurlod wrote:That too.

Compile in development. Test in test. Promote with Version Control.
I am sorry for not providing the full details.

We Initialized the Jobs & Routines(6 months back) from DevelopmentProject to VersionProject.
The same Jobs & Routines were Promoted to Production project.

Now we are trying to Promote 1 job from VersionProject to ProductionProject.
VersionControl gave a error message:

V54\V47S0::Error compiling generated subroutine for stage VA_ICWIS_PAYMENT.con_Child.stg_ChiFirstname
Compiling: Source = 'RT_BP833/JOB.1372796105.DT.1397437624.TRANS10', Object = 'RT_BP833.O/JOB.1372796105.DT.1397437624.TRANS10'
*********************************************************************************************************************************************
Array 'ValidateName' never dimensioned.

1 Errors detected, No Object Code Produced.
(VA_ICWIS_PAYMENT.con_Child.stg_ChiFirstname)


The Routine 'ValidateName' was not modified recently,its been there in VersionProject from the begining.

We tried to run(by clicking Test ) just that Routine (in VersionProject) from Manager.
We are getting the following error:
TEST #1
*******

Arg1 = ste!ve

Failed to compile test harness

Compiling: Source = 'DSU_BP/TSTValidateName^^1_1.B', Object = 'DSU_BP.O/TSTValidateName^^1_1.B'

0001 DEFFUN ValidateName^1_1(Arg1) CALLING "DSU.ValidateName"

^
'^' unexpected, Was expecting: ';', End of Line

1 Errors detected, No Object Code Produced.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Again, don't compile/run/test things in the VC project as it will just cause you grief because every object is renamed there.

Your first error message implies that the routine that was 'never dimension' has never been promoted to your Production project. Promote it again, even if you think it's already there... then see what happens.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Are the object codes for the routines are inthe same path still?
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
poorna_76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:42 am

Post by poorna_76 »

chulett wrote:Again, don't compile/run/test things in the VC project as it will just cause you grief because every object is renamed there.

Your first error message implies that the routine that was 'never dimension' has never been promoted to your Production project. Promote it again, even if you think it's already there... then see what happens.
The Routine does exist in ProductionProject.

We Re-Promoted the job & Routine again, it worked fine.

We don't know exactly why there was a issue, in the first time.

Thanks
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

The first time, for whatever reason, the job compilation on promotion failed to add a DEFFUN for the Routine, possibly because the Routine had not properly been promoted/compiled.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply