Page 1 of 1

Insert and Update

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:10 pm
by vardhan354
Hi D.S Gurus,

Below is the job structure,Im performing.In this Job, the data is loaded in to a table X.Using that table as source, I'm making a lookup with the help of a hashed file(part of the data from table X is sent to this hashed file for look up) in the transformer 2.
In transformer 2, I make a look up and update the same table X.So the source and target are the same table.In first case, the data is being inserted and after that Im updating part of columns which are inserted.When I run this job, the job is stucking up with no indication of any error.



Transformer1------>Hashed File
| |
| |
| |
Data-->Source---------->Transformer2------------>Target[/img]


Please mail me your opinion to solve this problem.Your help in this matter is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

V.V.G[/img]

Re: Insert and Update

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:20 pm
by gateleys
Vardhan,
I did not understand a word that you were trying convey. To make this worse, your diagram added to your verbal confusion. I am lost :roll: . Please use the CODE tags in the editor if you are drawing your design, or the IMG tags properly in case you have your image hosted elsewhere.

gateleys

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:46 am
by diamondabhi
it is because its causing a deadlock, try to load the data into a hashed/seq file then update in a different job.

Thanks,
Abhi.

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:57 pm
by ray.wurlod
You need separate Hashed File stages - one for lookups, one for writing - even though they refer to the same hashed file. Put an annotation on your design canvas to alert future developers to the fact that both stages refer to the same hashed file.

Code: Select all

       HFStage1   HFStage2
          |            ^
          |            |
          V            |
   --->  TransformerStage  --->