Datastage logic vs SQL

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

avi21st
Charter Member
Charter Member

Datastage logic vs SQL

Post by avi21st »

Hi

I am working in a project having strong fan following for SQL and PL/SQL. Still as a Datastage developer I want to use Datastage in most of my logic. But sometimes there is often a functional overlap between SQL and DataStage stages.

My Question is when to use Datastage logic and when to use SQL?

Which is faster-Use SQL joins or DataStage joins. As I know when combining data from very large tables, or when the source includes a large number of database tables, the efficiency of the DataStage EE in-link-sort and Join stages is faster than an equivalent SQL query. But for Server jobs I think SQL would be faster than using a Hashed file

Again stored procedures like Oracle PL/SQL which works on a per-row basis within a high-volume data flow. So I think Datastage EE is far better. But here we are using Standard Edition (server) -Is it better than PL?SQL. Should we use PL/SQL or Datastage

Another reason is the Oracle (OCI) stage cannot track Oracle errors properly so here in my project they want to use Unix script to call a SQL or PL/SQL script- in that way they can track errors- Is it the correct process

Some of us are willing to mix these two things well- please suggest what are the grey areas where SQL or PL/SQL works better than Datastage :)
Avishek Mukherjee
Data Integration Architect
Chicago, IL, USA.
gateleys
Premium Member
Premium Member

Re: Datastage logic vs SQL

Post by gateleys »