Validating all fields of a row & send errors to ErrFile/

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

The usual technique is to capture them individually in stage variables then use other stage variables to assemble the output message.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
WORKING_GRUNT
Participant

Post by WORKING_GRUNT »

Hi, Thanks for replying so fast.

I am capturing each field individually and storing them in separate stage variables but I cannot seem to get more then 1 error message per row. I am rather new to DS and there may be something subtle that I not aware of with this technique.

For example ...
Acct# Chk# ID AcctCde ChkAmt
123A 2222 ABC 100.00

If there is an error in the account number field and the account code field I would like to be able to format the following records

ErrDesc Acct# Chk# ID AcctCde ChkAmt
Non-Numeric. Acct# 123A .....................................
AcctCde Required 123A ....................................

I only get the last message, I cannot get the first error message.

Again any help would be most appreciated. Sorry for the long winded post.

Thanks ... Working Grunt. :D
rleishman
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by rleishman »

I have seen an idea posted in this forum whereby you concatenate the messages with a line feed character (ASCII 10) between each one, and them write them directly to a sequential file.
So, if a single input row has 4 errors, a single "row" is written to the output but it actually comes out as 4 rows.
A file is the ONLY place you can write them. If you direct the output to any other kind of stage it won't work.
Ross Leishman
jenkinsrob
Participant

Post by jenkinsrob »