multi record processing

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

mahi_mahi
Charter Member
Charter Member

multi record processing

Post by mahi_mahi »

Hi All,

I am new to datastage please help for my requirement!!

My requirement is like this

Ex:
I have a input file say emp file where i have some 10 employeerecords
and i have another input file say manager file where i have 5 records

i have to process each record on 1 input file(emp) using a set of records on another file(manager). The set of records on the second file are not 'linked' directly to any value on the first file - i.e. you cannot use a 'lookup' key field.

so while process i should read emp file and for each record
i should read all the records from manager file..to process
my logic...

should be something like this

open emp file
do until emp-end-of-file
read emp record
open mgr-file
do unitl end-of-mgr-file or flag=tru

i will be setting flag...... based on my logic
end-do-for mgr-file
close mgr-file
check flag and write record
end-do-for-emp-file
close emp-file

please tell me how can i achieve this in datastage.....and link to manulas also help me.....please give an idea....

Mahi
kcbland
Participant

Post by kcbland »

Welcome. Please look at your DS installation CD and run thru the tutorial exercises. Your example indicates you are trying to learn DS from the very beginning. The tutorial is the best method, as it has pictures and exercises that take you thru the fundamentals of building hash lookups, references, and other such constructs that your example requires. That's the fastest method for learning DS on your own.
Kenneth Bland

Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »