reading value from a falt file using in oracle query.

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

abhi989
Participant

reading value from a falt file using in oracle query.

Post by abhi989 »

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting questions!!

I am trying to read a flat file which has bunch of pl/sql procedure names. Then I am trying to pass one value at a time into oracle stage which has a user defined SQL written. After reading each value, I want SQL to insert the result into the oracle table.

How do I pass one value at a time into the oracle stage? How do I get that bind variable which contains procedure name from a flat file?
kcbland
Participant

Post by kcbland »

Welcome. You're trying to use DS to read a list of sp from a file and execute them?

Can't do that using the OCI stage. You're doing something very wrong with the tool. The OCI stage is a data streamer, either as input or output.

If you have a text file of stored procedures and want to execute them, take that list of stored procedures and rewrite it as a PL/SQL script and then use DS to run a sqlplus command line session passing it that script name.
Kenneth Bland

Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
abhi989
Participant

Post by abhi989 »

I think you miss understood my question.

Disregard there are pl/sql procedures. They are list of values. I am trying to pass them into OCI stage, which has sql query. This query takes each value out of the flat file and insert the result into the database.

I am trying to figure out that how can I pass those value from a flat file into OCI sql.
mabramson
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by mabramson »

Hello My Fellow DSer,