Page 1 of 1

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:09 am
by ucf007
If you are using 7.1 or 7.0 there are still few bugs related to encrypted parameters...

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:32 am
by kprama
This is because of the EXECSH being returning the InputArg as one of the log messages. Easy work around would be to create a copy of the routine and remove the "InputArg" from the below lines of the routine.Leave the other lines of code as they are.

If SystemReturnCode = 0 Then
Message = DSRMessage("DSTAGE_TRX_I_0003", "Executed command: ", ""):InputArg:Message
Call DSLogInfo(Message, RoutineName)
End Else
Message = DSRMessage("DSTAGE_TRX_I_0004", "Error when executing command: ", ""):InputArg:Message
GoTo ErrorExit

Also doing so would not display the whole input arguments.

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 12:27 am
by roy
Hi,
IMHO, most script activities are do-able via DS basic code.
If this is also your case you can rewrite your script using a server job controll or in a DS routine with DS basic and you will not have this problem when running the job.

You can find examples on how to in the given routines supplied with the product and the Basic.pdf file in your client installation.

IHTH,

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:42 am
by kduke
Roy is correct to change this into a routine activity would be easy.

Ans = @FALSE
Shell = Arg1
Cmd = 'SH "' : Shell : '"'
execute Cmd capturing OutPut returning RtnValue
Ans = RtnValue

You can add some LogInfo if you want but this is close.

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 12:43 am
by IFMTCS
Our DataStage version is 7.5.1.
So don't know whether there are still bugs related to encrypted parameters.
Since there is no option to suppress any particular type of message for Sequence from being displayed in the Director log, I exported the Sequence and I removed the lines containing functions 'DSMakeMsg' from the .dsx file to suppress the log entry of the execution status of the 'Execute command' activity
But when I imported the modified .dsx file back into the DataStage these lines are still coming in the Job Control(which is read-only) of the Sequence. So this time also if the Sequence is run the encrypted parameter value is still being displayed in the Director log, which I don't want.
And if I export the job again these lines which I removed from the .dsx file reappear in the exported .dsx file.
Is there any solution to get rid of this?

Amit Jasu

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 7:20 am
by chulett
Because the moment you reimported your changed source and recompiled it, those pesky lines were added right back in. :wink:

You need to copy/paste the code into the Job Control page of a regular Server job - i.e. not use a Sequencer job type - and then you are free to hack away at it.

Of course, then the maintenance of that job is all in your hands... unless you keep the original Sequencer job around and up-to-date as an organ donor for future code transplants. :lol: