Page 1 of 1

Executing Unix Shell Script

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 1:06 pm
by mkeevil
We are running Oracle 9i on a Solaris 8 box and I was wondering if there is anyway to execute a shell script that is on that remote box?

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 1:14 pm
by Sainath.Srinivasan
Look for rsh.

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 1:55 pm
by mkeevil
DS is running on Windows, can't use rsh right????

Running RSH on Windows

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:21 pm
by gsherry1
mkeevil wrote:DS is running on Windows, can't use rsh right????
You will be able to use rsh and many other Unix like commands if you install cygwin on your windows installation.

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:34 pm
by mkeevil
Where can I download cygwin and find the documentation for it? Is there a way to do it with Native DS? without installing any other products?

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:45 pm
by gsherry1
mkeevil wrote:Where can I download cygwin and find the documentation for it? Is there a way to do it with Native DS? without installing any other products?

Cygwin is free, and you can find more information about it here:
http://www.cygwin.com/
I am able to run rsh from a windows cmd prompt, which means you should be able to do it from DataStage on windows platform.

I am not a windows expert, so I am not aware of any other windows method to accomplish the same task.

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 3:20 pm
by mkeevil
I installed the product to my computer to test it, and it placed an icon on my PC... I can run shell commands when I use the executable that it installed but how do I run them from the dos command line?

Running rsh from windows command line.

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 7:52 am
by gsherry1
mkeevil wrote:I installed the product to my computer to test it, and it placed an icon on my PC... I can run shell commands when I use the executable that it installed but how do I run them from the dos command line?
To execute any windows command from command line, the location of that executable must be in the %PATH% environment variable.

To check if this is so:
1. start cygwin shell and type 'cygpath -w /' This should return the root of the cygwin installation, which is typically "c:\Cygwin" or "c:\Program Files\Cygwin".
2. Check MyComputer->Properties->Advanced->EnvironmentVariables->System Variables->Path value to see if it contains the path returned from step 1 with \bin at end.
3. If not add this path with \bin at end to the path and retry running rsh from command line.

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:47 am
by mkeevil
The only problem is I dont think this can connect to a secured shell, I am going to try to use openssh. At least this is what our unix admin told me.