Page 1 of 1

Invalid Character

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 2:04 pm
by ksmurthys
My job is very simple srcoraoci--->trm---->trgoraoci
when i clicked view data its displaying without errors.
The problem is when i run the job i am getting only one log entry it says
error type is fatal
deps.sourceDependent: ORA-00911: invalid character and job aborted.
I am wondering whats the cause for the above error.

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 2:16 pm
by satish_valavala
Why don't you re-type your user defined SQL.
It works sometime.

FYI

Error: ORA-00911: invalid character
Cause: You tried to tried to execute an SQL statement that included a special character.
Action: The options to resolve this Oracle error are:
This error occurs when you try to use a special character in an SQL statement. If a special character other than $, _, and # is used in the name of a column or table, the name must be enclosed in double quotations.
This error may occur if you've pasted your SQL into your editor from another program. Sometimes there are non-printable characters that may be present. In this case, you should try retyping your SQL statement and then re-execute it.
This error occurs when a special character is used in a WHERE clause and the value is not enclosed in single quotations.
For example, if you had the following SQL statement:

SELECT * FROM suppliers
WHERE supplier_name = ?;
You would receive the following error message ORA-00911

You could correct this error by enclosing the ? in single quotations as follows:.

SELECT * FROM suppliers
WHERE supplier_name = '?';

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 2:49 pm
by ksmurthys
I executed the sqlstament in sqlplus,there are no errors.

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 2:59 pm
by satish_valavala
As far as DS error message is concern, its absolutely DB error.
Something fishy with user defined SQL in ORA OCI stage.
can I see your userdefined SQL from ORA OCI Stage.
We don't know, some spaces may gives problems.
Why don't you re-type the user defined SQL

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 3:16 pm
by amsh76
Is it a user defined query ? If so pls make sure your metadata match with the column order in your select query.

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 3:41 pm
by chulett
The 'invalid character' is the semi-colon you put at the end of the SQL statement... take it off. View Data will work with it there, but the job won't run. :wink:

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 1:04 pm
by ksmurthys
Thanks Chullete.