Page 1 of 5

generating jobs reports

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:25 am
by Luk
Hello!

It is known that it is possible to generate job report (in Designer) in HTML or XML!
But is it possible to generate such reports for many jobs in one time (without need to open each job in designer and generate report)??

Regards

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:05 am
by Precious
You are able to generate reports using the command line.

You could write a job that gets the job list, then looping thru that, run the create report command for each job.

Code: Select all

dsdesign.exe /H=hostname /U=username /P=password /O=omitflag project 
job_name | /SC shared_container_name /R /RP=report_pathname /RT=stylesheet_pathname /RX
Regards,

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:16 am
by Luk
Thanks

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:07 am
by kduke
I posted a batch file that will do a job report for every job on ADN. I prefer JobReport written by Tony Curcio. I think it creates a nicer document. So created a wrapper for his routine which will do all jobs and all routines. I wrote the routine part to look the same as his html. It creates and index to all the other pages as well. You can download it from ADN and my tips page. It is called GenHtml.

DwNav also generates all of this plus a where used link by table and hash file name which I call job metadata. You can download it from my web site and request a 30 day evaluation copy for free.

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 8:25 am
by Luk
I posted a batch file that will do a job report for every job on ADN. I prefer JobReport written by Tony Curcio. I think it creates a nicer document. So created a wrapper for his routine which will do all jobs and all routines. I wrote the routine part to look the same as his html. It creates and index to all the other pages as well. You can download it from ADN and my tips page. It is called GenHtml.
I've found and download it from your web page, but I can't import *.dsx file.
I have message that I it is possible only if my DS client code page will be 1252 (my current code page is 1250)!

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 8:48 am
by ArndW
Luk, edit the code setting right at the beginning of the .DSX file and you will be able to import it.

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 8:58 am
by Luk
Luk, edit the code setting right at the beginning of the .DSX file and you will be able to import it.
Arnd, I have already done it! But I have not found entry about code page! Maybe you know what must I look for??

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:02 am
by Luk
You are able to generate reports using the command line.

You could write a job that gets the job list, then looping thru that, run the create report command for each job.
OK! I can do it, but how can I generate report from job which exist on server (UNIX) and I have my client on another machine (Windows)??
I have no client installed on UNIX!!

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:13 am
by Luk
Arnd, I have already done it! But I have not found entry about code page! Maybe you know what must I look for??
sory Arnd :) it was silly question!! I found it :)

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:38 pm
by kduke
It should work on Windows or UNIX. On UNIX you need to download the files from the server.

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:33 pm
by vmcburney
With DataStage 7.5.1 the command line job report with the /R report switch turned on provides a bitmap and a HTML document with links between the bitmaps and the attributes section of the HTML document via some clever rectangle reference coordinates properties on the bitmap image.

<img src="imagename<map name="jobmap"><area shap="rect" cords="..."href=...>
<area shape="rect" coords="..." href = ...>
<area shape="rect" coords="..." href = ...>
<area shape="rect" coords="..." href = ...>

In other words when you click on the picture of a job stage it takes you to the job stage properties in the report.

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 10:23 pm
by kduke
It is still ugly.

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:49 am
by ray.wurlod
Serks? :lol:

Re: generating jobs reports

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:13 am
by nageshmb
>>It is known that it is possible to generate job report (in Designer) in HTML or XML!

Is this possible in 7.1 too? If yes, how? I know there is an option available in 7.5

-Nagesh.

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:37 am
by kduke
JobReport works in 7.1. You can download it and GenHtml from ADN or my tips page. I think 7.5.1 was the first version to document a job from Designer or dsjob.