oracle sequences in Datastage

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

reddy
Premium Member
Premium Member

oracle sequences in Datastage

Post by reddy »

Hi Guys,

How can i use Oracle Sequences in Datastage jobs????

I am new to datastage.

I would appreciate your help.

Thanks
Narasa
ram1899
Charter Member
Charter Member

Re: oracle sequences in Datastage

Post by ram1899 »

reddy wrote:Hi Guys,

How can i use Oracle Sequences in Datastage jobs????

I am new to datastage.

I would appreciate your help.

Thanks
Narasa

Hi Narasa,
You can either use the Oracle Sequence ( Sql Command ) when seleting the Data or Loading the Data Into Target tables. In both the cases you have use User Defined SQL when selecting ot Inserting the Data.Other way is using the Oracle system Dummy table.

If you want to create the Sequence keys why don't you use the KeyManagment Transform function which comes as default

Hope this will help you
jmorgan
Participant

Post by jmorgan »

In an OCI stage (or an ODBC or OLEDB stage) supporting a reference lookup, you can use a user-written SQL statement such as

Code: Select all

SELECT seqname.NEXTVAL FROM DUAL WHERE :1 = 1;
; supply a reference key expression that is always 1.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

:idea: You don't need the 'where' clause or the reference key expression to accomplish this. Use a select in the form of:

SELECT seqname.NEXTVAL FROM DUAL
as custom SQL in the OCI lookup stage and define one column to hold the value. Make sure the column is not marked as a key column.

No need to provide a Key Expression for the lookup, simply use the supplied sequence number you'll find in the lookup for each row processed by the job.

Walla! :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »