Command Stage

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
kollurianu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:59 pm

Command Stage

Post by kollurianu »

Can we have #workdir#/sh/ins_process_start.sh on the command tab on command stage ? it is giving compilation error saying that full path should mentioned it cannot take parameters , so after i give
/stage/sh/ins_process_start.sh on the command tab that iam able to compile without any errors.


any inputs are greatly appreciated.

Thank you all.
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

The error message exactly states the problem. The stage is deficient in that you cannot use parameters in the path to the command (kind of irritating, do you agree?).

The only solution for you is either environment variables or symbolic links. We've been asking for years to allow this functionality, so instead we got a compile error message. :cry:
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
kollurianu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:59 pm

Post by kollurianu »

Thank you very much for the response. oh yes i do agree with you Kcbland. So Symbolic links and environment variables are going to work?

How are Symbolic links created?

Thank you very much once again,
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

If you have a directory structure:

Code: Select all

/aaa/bbb/ccc/ddd/eee
You can make a symbolic link represent the directory:

Code: Select all

$ ln -s /tmp/xyz /aaa/bbb/ccc
If you do a

Code: Select all

ls -l /tmp/xyz
you actually see the same results as doing

Code: Select all

ls -l /aaa/bbb/ccc
You can change symbolic links on demand.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Switch it to routine stage and call ExecSH. you can use parameters with it.
Mamu Kim
kollurianu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:59 pm

Post by kollurianu »

Thank you Ken and Duke for ur answers
Ken, i tried dsparams and it worked.

Thank you all fo r ur help,
sendmk
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 5:02 am

Post by sendmk »

kcbland wrote:The only solution for you is either environment variables or symbolic links. We've been asking for years to allow this functionality, so instead we got a compile error message. :cry:
how can u use envir variable if u cannot use any job parameter in the command path,

:?

thx
Post Reply