based on previous record how to update record

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

reddy
Premium Member
Premium Member

based on previous record how to update record

Post by reddy »

Sir,

i am new to Datastage, i have a scenario like this please help me by step by step.

col1 col2 date1
111 111 2004-05-05
111 222 2004-06-06
222 555 2004-07-07
222 666 2004-06-06

if col1 is same for 2 records i need latest records.

Thanks
Narasa
kris
Participant

Post by kris »

Hi Nasara,

If you want to persist the last record based on the col1 as a key, simple way would be having a hashfile with 'col1' as a key and write all the records to that hashfile. Finally you will have desired records in the hashfile. later on you can write those records wherever you want.

But taking this approach would depend on how many records you are dealing with and where do you want store them. It is good as long as you are not dealing with humongous volumes.

Kris~
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

Yup, that would be a simple approach that leverages the 'destructive overwrite' of hash files - last one in wins for each combination of the key fields. It would require that your data be sorted properly.

Another option would be to sort the file descending on the key fields and then take the first record from each key group. This is easier than trying to recognise group changes and taking the last one from the previous group. It also solves the "how do I know I'm at the end" dilemma. Stage Variables would be used to store the 'old' values and give you something to compare against.

Don't forget about the Filter option in the Sequential File stage if your source is a flat file. It makes it pretty simple to leverage your operating system to do the sorting 'on the fly' as the data is brought into the job, eliminating an extra 'pre-job' step.
-craig