Very slow updates vs. inserts

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

RodBarnes
Charter Member
Charter Member

Very slow updates vs. inserts

Post by RodBarnes »

I am seeing VERY slow times when using an update vs. an insert (3 rows/second vs. 3000 rows/second). Is this normal for DataStage to exhibit this drastic of a difference?

I am relatively new to DataStage but have successfully created an ETL sequence that works very well using a type 2 (Kimball) model where each change in pertinent data creates a new record via inserts. No updates are done to the existing rows.

However, I needed to add a new element to the target and that required a way to initialize data in that new element outside of the normal ETL sequence. I did this by creating a new job that builds a hash of the keys and initial values, then uses an MSOLEDB stage to export the data to a sequential file. Another job then runs through this sequential file and feeds the output to an MSOLEDB update stage to update the new element in each row. When done, it regenerates the CRC hash file so that I don't get a huge set of inserts on the next run of the ETL. I am using an "Update existing records only" Input Action on the update stage.

What I found was it all worked but the update stage was incredibly slow. Probably there are some settings that will help me tune this?

Thanks for any ideas or suggestions.
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

This is more an artifact of database behaviour rather than DataStage behaviour. A lot more checking takes place for an UPDATE than for an INSERT. You haven't encountered in noticeably in the past because you haven't been throwing the volume of rows at the database that DataStage is.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
roy