Error while trying to retrieve text for error ORA-12154

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

egosz
Participant
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Error while trying to retrieve text for error ORA-12154

Post by egosz »

Hi folks,

I am currently facing a problem when trying to transforming a sequential text file and feeding it to a already-created table in Oracle. When I compiled evrything is OK but when I run a receive an error message

Code: Select all

Error while trying to retrieve text for error ORA-12154
And the job was aborted. Another strange thing that when I try to import Plug-in Meta Data Definitions for ORAOCI9 it said that

Code: Select all

Unable to initialize plug-in
:evil:

Any thoughts? Thanks very much in advance

I am running Oracle9i client, DataStage 7.5 Client on Windows 2003 platform and connected to Oracle10g, DataStage 7.5 Server on FedoraCore3 on the same home network.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Welcome aboard! :D

Sounds like the connection between DataStage and Oracle was interrupted between (because?) when the error occurred and when DataStage issed a query (effectively an oerr command) to retrieve the text associated with the error code.

Or it may be some incompatibility between the 9i client and the 10g server.

You can issue an oerr ORA 12154 command manually to determine what the error was, and this may help you to find a fix.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

ORA 12154 is a 'TNS: could not resolve service name' message.

It appears that your TNSnames.ora in DataStage Server machine cannot be interpretted to your runtime Oracle Instances. Try to run sqlplus from DataStage server to connect to the 2 instances.

As you appear to connect to 2 Oracle Instances, check whether you have the corresponding TNS entries on the tnsnames.ora.

Unable to Initialize plugin is the general message for any library problems in dsenv. Does this happen for both or only one of the Oracle Instances? This can be because of version difference.

Also search for corresponding post as it will give more detail.
egosz
Participant
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by egosz »

The problem that I am mostly concerning now is that the Plug-in MetaData Definitions function for Table Definitions is not working. It kept showing the message

Code: Select all

Unable to initialize plug-in
As first, I thought I might have problem with the plug-ins themselves or might forgot to install them. However, as I observed the Plugins.ini file, it list all the plugins that i have installed :(

I also tried to TNSPing the Oracle 10g database from my 9i client (in case there is an issue of version incompatibility) but it worked fine. I still can use other applicaition such as Toad to connect to Oracle server.

Any comments?
dzdiver
Participant
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 8:55 am
Location: global

Post by dzdiver »

Regarding the unable to initialize plugins...

Ensure you have the correct env set up in $DSHOME/dsenv
and then restart your DS server process.

Ensure these env vars set: -
ORACLE_HOME=/oracle_inst/tools/oracle/product/9i <- or wherever it is
export ORACLE_HOME

SHLIB_PATH=$SHLIB_PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib32 <- ensure before $ORACLE_HOME/lib

export SHLIB_PATH

PATH=$PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib32:.
export PATH


cheers,
B.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

All that advice is great, problem is it is only applicable to DataStage on a UNIX server. :? For a Windows server you have to play a different game, a game that I'm not familiar with or I would have chimed in earlier.

You do have a 'configuration' issue of some kind. I would think that the Configuration Guide for the various plugins would address what the requirements are for the OCI stages, have you read through that?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
roy
Participant
Posts: 2598
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:05 am
Location: Israel

Post by roy »

Hi,
this sounds like a problem with your Oracle client configuration/installation.
go thru the docs for plugin install and install and upgrade manuals as Craig said.

a quick search in the net got me to http://ora-12154.ora-code.com/ something to do with tnsnames give it a try.

and talk ot your DBAs.

IHTH,
Roy R.
Time is money but when you don't have money time is all you can afford.

Search before posting:)

Join the DataStagers team effort at:
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
Image
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Can you let us know whether you can run sqlplus from the DataStage Server machine connecting to the 2 Oracle instances.

If you can, then your TNS is not the problem.

For plug-in, check your ds_loadlibrary path.
egosz
Participant
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by egosz »

At first I would like to thank all of your guys for your valuable advices.

TNS is not an issue I think. I have tried to run SQLPlus from DS server machine and it also worked fine. The thing is that not only the plug-in for Oracle didn't work but also other databases like Sybase and Informix (Unable to initialize plug-in).

The snapshot of the LD_LIBRARY_PATH in my dsenv file is below:

Code: Select all

 LD_LIBRARY_PATH=`dirname $DSHOME`/branded_odbc/lib:$DSHOME/lib:$DSHOME/uvdlls:$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/i386/client:$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/i386:$ORACLE_HOME:$ORACLE_HOME/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Hope this helps
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Wait a second...

I am confused now (maybe so are the others).

In your first mail, you said your environment is Windows (in additional info).

Now you bring in Solaris (LD_LIBARARY_PATH).

In this new case, can you make sure your ORACLE_HOME dir is identical to the one in dsenv and is loaded in your current DS runtime.
egosz
Participant
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by egosz »

As in the first email, I did say that I am running DS and Oracle client on Windows machine, but the DS Server and Oracle Server are on the Linux machine.

i have cheked the ORACLE_HOME path with the one i have in dsenv, they are identical. And about making them loaded on runtime, could you show me how to do that?

Many thanks Sainath
Mike
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1021
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2002 6:01 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Post by Mike »

The Oracle client must be installed on your DataStage Server.

Mike
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Do you have your PATH set to $ORACLE_HOME/bin ?

You can check your current DS environment values by typing env from Admin command line.
egosz
Participant
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by egosz »

Sorry Mike if I am to be so noobs. Is it necessary to install Oracle Client on the Linux machine which is already running Oracle Server?

To make it clear, below details the client and server side of my system

Client: Oracle Client 9i, DS Client 7.5, Windows Server 2003
Server: Oracle Server 10g, DS Server 7.5, Fedora Core 3

Thanks everyone
egosz
Participant
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by egosz »

To Sainath

Yes, I already had my PATH set to $ORACLE_HOME/bin.

Thanks dude
Post Reply