Page 1 of 1

Able to save job with same name

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 1:26 pm
by ketfos
Hi,
I modify a job and save it.
When I look into the Designer, I see same job name twice in the Designer.
I am able to open both the jobs although they ahve same name?

Any help will be appreciated.

Ketfos

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 1:39 pm
by Sainath.Srinivasan
Check whether it has special char in its name. Also whether something like '0' instead of 'O' or 'o'.

Can you let us know how you confirmed this duplication.

Try calling the job from a sequencer or batch and see which one runs.

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:30 pm
by ketfos
Yes, I checked and there is no special char in it.
I simply saved the job after modify.

Ketfos

Re: Able to save job with same name

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 3:49 pm
by manteena
ketfos wrote:Hi,
I modify a job and save it.
When I look into the Designer, I see same job name twice in the Designer.
I am able to open both the jobs although they ahve same name?

Any help will be appreciated.

Ketfos
check for case sensitivity in the job name
There must be a difference in the name. if not, i don't think that DS allows same name for the jobs

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 6:00 pm
by dsxuserrio
You can not have same job name for two jobs in the same category. Can you post the job and category names of the two jobs please??

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 6:38 pm
by ray.wurlod
Duplicate keys are not possible in hashed files, and DS_JOBS is a hashed file with NAME as its key. That's why duplicate names are not possible.

Under some circumstances, however, you can see duplicate key values in corrupted hashed files, or hashed files with corrupted indexes. Check that DS_JOBS is not corrupted and that its indexes don't need rebuilding.

Commands are:

Code: Select all

UVFIXFILE DS_JOBS
LIST.INDEX DS_JOBS ALL
It's more likely that the indexes are the problem. Repair with

Code: Select all

DS.REINDEX DS_JOBS 
to use which you will need exclusive access, so you may as well do the lot.

Code: Select all

DS.REINDEX ALL

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 6:48 pm
by chulett
dsxuserrio wrote:You can not have same job name for two jobs in the same category.
Just to clarify, you cannot have two jobs with the same name regardless of category. :wink: Each job name much be unique to the project.

Unless, of course, (as people are suspecting) the structures holding this information are corrupt, then all bets are off.