Page 1 of 2

calling a sequencer from command line (urgent)

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 1:42 am
by rajiivnb
Hi,
My server running in unix environment and i require to call my sequence from a command line from my client machine.What is the command for that.??
Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Rajiivnb

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 2:01 am
by ArndW
Rajiv,

there is no difference between a sequencer and a job call from the command line. Look in your documentation for "dsjob -run" or search this forum, there are numerous examples; including a thread started yesterday which I remember seeing.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 2:15 am
by ml
You can telnet the server and run dsjob from engine/bin/
like:
$ ./dsjob
Command Syntax:
dsjob [-file <file> <server> | [-server <server>][-user <user>][-passwor
d <password>]]
<primary command> [<arguments>]

Valid primary command options are:
-run
-stop
-lprojects
-ljobs
-lstages
-llinks
-projectinfo
-jobinfo
-stageinfo
-linkinfo
-lparams
-paraminfo
-log
-logsum
-logdetail
-lognewest

I hope this help you.

Re: calling a sequencer from command line (urgent)

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 7:56 am
by chulett
rajiivnb wrote:My server running in unix environment and i require to call my sequence from a command line from my client machine.
That's the sticky wicket - running the command from the client.

From what I remember for 7.5, they have started delivering the components of 'dsjob' to the client all of the time, so that you can simply execute the dsjob command from your client as you would from the server.

For older versions, there are some posts here listing what you'd need to get your hands on to accomplish this. Hopefully a search (or a kind soul who's done this before) will turn this up.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:05 am
by ArndW
At 7.5 the client (Windows) machine contains a "dsjob.exe" which lets you specify the <server> on which to execute the command. I think this is what Rajiv was asking about.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:09 am
by chulett
Exactly... so it depends on his version as to how easy or difficult this will be. :wink:

Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 9:38 pm
by rajiivnb
Hi,
my client is 7.1...is it possible to run from cmd line

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:20 am
by Sainath.Srinivasan
If you want to obtain any feedback, then you can use the DSExecute from your DataStage job / routine.

But if you need it to call the first job to run, then you need to have a sequencer or a remote call (with something like FTP).

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:24 am
by ArndW
rajiivnb wrote:Hi,
my client is 7.1...is it possible to run from cmd line
Rajiv,

if you call up a cmd window and execute the dsjob.exe program and it has a <server> option then your answer is "yes". Please tell us whether you can or not as curious minds would like to know.

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:28 am
by Sainath.Srinivasan
ArndW,

I assume the requirement is to run dsjob from Client machine's command line in V7.1. But V7.1 does not provide dsjob.exe in Client side.

So can you please explain what you are trying to achieve !!

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:45 am
by ArndW
Sainath,

I guess you have answered the question - I was not sure if the functionality came in at 7.x or only at 7.5; now that you have stated that it won't work at 7.1 it answers Rajiv's question.

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:31 am
by roy
Hi,
AFAIK, Ascential will provide you a dsjob.exe to run your DS jobs from a windows machine if you ask for it and you have a valid support contract (or via your local vendor)
as for what you need to run dsjob from a windows machine with no DS client installed is probably part of or a combination of the following:
dsrpc32.dll ; dsclnt32.dll ; vndsapi.dll and dsjob.exe.
server development pdf AKA servjdev.pdf should have more info( but the files refered as unirpc32.dll and uvclnt32.dll are in fact old versions and the real files from at least version 6 are the names I mentioned)

place the dll file/s as mentioned in the servjdev.pdf and run your dsjob.exe it will work!

IHTH,

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:41 am
by ArndW
Roy- I can understand the AFAIK [as far as I know], but what does IHTH mean? I did a couple of google searches but couldn't find a reference to a definition.

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:01 am
by roy
I Hope This Helps ;)

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:06 am
by ArndW
I did :shock:

I'm fairly conversant with most of the common ones but that one had me stumped. I still remember the longer abbreviations - TANSTAAFL (from Robert Heinlein) but dislike using them - especially the more esoteric modern variants such as IMNSHO and so on...

Thanks!