DSP.Open GCI Error in Link

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

kaladypramod
Participant
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 9:01 am

DSP.Open GCI Error in Link

Post by kaladypramod »

hi,

i have a job in which a transformer has 6 output links.and whenever i run the job Error i get says

"Error occurred during link open processing.
DSP.Open GCI $DSP.Open error -100."

Along with the error it says which link had this error.
I Found that link with the Error is always the one which has been ordered last in the Link ordering of the Transformer.

Could any one help me out in solving this error..

Regards
Pramod
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Can you tell us what other stage types you are using? In particular, what passive stage type are you using on the link that you assert is generating the error?

Code: Select all

DSP.Open 
is invoked when establishing a connection to data from a plug-in stage. Therefore this problem is unrelated to Transfomer stage or to the number of links connected to it.

Are there any other warnings adjacent to this one in the log file?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kaladypramod
Participant
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 9:01 am

Post by kaladypramod »

ok....In this Job We are using only DRS stages (6) as lookups ..
Also Inside these DRS Lookup's WHERE condition we r giving 2 Meta SQL Tags,%DateTimeIn(dtt) and %DateTimeOut(datetime_col) in the UserDeined SQL,for getting Platform Specific SQL for a DateTime Value..Other than this it is a simple Select statement

Also the data is being Inserted into a Target DRS Stage.

We r not using any Plug-In Stages in the Job...


I am not getting any other warnings other than this one....
These r the only warnings for the Job..U could look into the Job log..

"Type: Warning
Event: J_Fact_PS_F_BENCHMARK..DRS_PS_E_WA_BENCHMRK: Error occurred during link open processing.
Type: Warning
Event: J_Fact_PS_F_BENCHMARK..DRS_PS_E_WA_BENCHMRK.Load_Error_PS_D_UNITCODE1: DSP.Open GCI $DSP.Open error -100.
Type: Fatal
Event: J_Fact_PS_F_BENCHMARK..Build_PS_F_BENCHMARK1: |J_Fact_PS_F_BENCHMARK..DRS_PS_E_WA_BENCHMRK.Load_Error_PS_D_UNITCODE1: DSP.Open GCI $DSP.Open error -100.|
"

Thanks for ur quick response
Pramod
battaliou
Participant
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 7:28 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by battaliou »

I got a very similar error from DB2 on an AS400:
Package "NULLID .SYSSH000" was not found. SQLSTATE=51002 ... DSP.Open GCI $DSP.Open error -100.
Solution was to bind the database from the ODBC settings.
3NF: Every non-key attribute must provide a fact about the key, the whole key, and nothing but the key. So help me Codd.
ketfos
Participant
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 8:58 pm
Location: san francisco
Contact:

Post by ketfos »

Hi,
You could check the SQL in the Load_Error_PS_D_UNITCODE1 link.

Ketfos
Juls
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 9:17 am

Post by Juls »

Do you have any LongVarChar data types defined in your metadata?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

DRS is a plug-in stage. It is written according to the C Plug-In API specifications.

Can you try one without the MetaSQL tags?
If that's OK, can you move the MetaSQL tags to the Derivation column in the Columns grid, and switch to generated SQL? What happens in that case?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kaladypramod
Participant
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 9:01 am

Post by kaladypramod »

Q )Can you try one without the MetaSQL tags?
If that's OK, can you move the MetaSQL tags to the Derivation column in the Columns grid, and switch to generated SQL? What happens in that case?

tried it....But continuing to get the same Warnings..

Do you have any LongVarChar data types defined in your metadata?

yes. i have a LongVarChar Column,when i import the table....But i have changed it to Varchar of 2000..in the DRS stage.....Does that Help??

You could check the SQL in the Load_Error_PS_D_UNITCODE1 link.

It is a simple Insert Statement..to a DRS Target....


I got a very similar error from DB2 on an AS400:

Quote:
Package "NULLID .SYSSH000" was not found. SQLSTATE=51002 ... DSP.Open GCI $DSP.Open error -100.


Solution was to bind the database from the ODBC settings.


I checked out my ODBC settings....It is Fine...

I am Not Sure about the Error ........
Could it be Because of the LongVarChar Column ??
But i have Such 6 such Links....But I am getting error in only One of them....



Thanks
Pramod
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

One possible cause is that you are opening more number of files than those possible via your current configuration of DataStage.

These file count are defined in your uvconfig file as MFILES and T30FILES. Try to increase the count and regenerate your DataStage.

This may solve your problem.

As you mentioned, there may not be any problem in the link.

Before doing this, try to remove few links to confirm your job works (with lower number of files to be opened).

Take a backup copy of your old uvconfig before doing anything.
Juls
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 9:17 am

Post by Juls »

kaladypramod wrote:
Do you have any LongVarChar data types defined in your metadata?

yes. i have a LongVarChar Column,when i import the table....But i have changed it to Varchar of 2000..in the DRS stage.....Does that Help??
I am Not Sure about the Error ........
Could it be Because of the LongVarChar Column ??
But i have Such 6 such Links....But I am getting error in only One of them....

Pramod
Try setting all the fields that are LongVarChar to LongVarChar 2000 (length and display size). Make sure to do this in ALL of your DRS stages (source and targets). How many fields like this do you have?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

TipIf you do change LongVarChar to VarChar, also change the derivation of each such column to CAST(colname AS VARCHAR(2000)). This will avoid metadata mismatch warnings.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kaladypramod
Participant
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 9:01 am

Post by kaladypramod »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:One possible cause is that you are opening more number of files than those possible via your current configuration of DataStage.

These file count are defined in your uvconfig file as MFILES and T30FILES. Try to increase the count and regenerate your DataStage.

This may solve your problem.

As you mentioned, there may not be any problem in the link.

Before doing this, try to remove few links to confirm your job works (with lower number of files to be opened).

.
Hey ..This works..... :D
I mean..what i did was removed one of the six links to the DRS....then when i ran the job.... No errors This time.....
:idea:
Next step I did was...I increased my MFILES from (150 to 200) and T30FILES (from 200 to 1000) that is i increased T30FILES..(300-400-500-800 and then 1000 in steps..) every Time i restarted the DS Services but it didnt work.. I am getting the same Error...

So,the gist of the matter is that " I am opening more no. of files."...
But how much should the size of UVCONFIG files. be set.....?????
How do I go ahead....???

Also I changed my only Column which was VarChar of 2000 to LongVarChar 2000....It didn't make much of a difference.... :(

hi Ray ..thanks for the Tip :idea: ...

Thanks all for taking Notice of my Query..
Keep the Reply's coming

Regards
Pramod
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Uvconfig is only a text file in itself. To make the changes be of any effect, you need to regenerate your DataStage Kernel. You can perform the following steps :
1.) Ask all users to log out
2.) Take a DataStage export of the projects
3.) Stop DataStage Services
4.) cd `cat /.dshome`
5.) . ./dsenv
6.) ./bin/uvregen
7.) Start DataStage
8.) Check whether the job works now (with 1 link less as it is now)
9.) Check whether the job works with all its links in place

Please do keep us updated.

Best of luck.
kaladypramod
Participant
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 9:01 am

Post by kaladypramod »

hi,
I could not check on the server ...
But the same job with all Links attached....I ran it in my local system(which also has local DS server)..
it ran Perfectly fine.
Would it because of so many Instances of the Client connections to the server.??? :?
...Not sure..when i can check on the server with many people connected..
will keep u posted on the same...

Regards
Pramod
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Is your local DS of same configuration as your domain DS ?

Did you make any change and were there any impact?
Post Reply