Merge Stage Issue: Joining two sequential files

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

kgfrancis
Premium Member
Premium Member

Merge Stage Issue: Joining two sequential files

Post by kgfrancis »

I am new to DataStage server, and the issue that I am encountering is that when I use the merge stage to perform a full outer join using the complete set command. I get the following error:

Abnormal termination of stage testMergeA. Sequential_File_5.IDENT1 detected

I want to match like records in both sequential files and return one record in the resulting output sequential file. Also, this output sequential file should return all records that did not find a match.

I have seen another post that suggest appending the two files, but this will create duplicate records which is not ideal for my situation.
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Did you sort the data before sending through to merge?
PhilHibbs
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by PhilHibbs »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:Did you sort the data before sending through to merge?
Is this necessary? I thought the merge stage worked by building up hash files. I have merged unsorted data, including a many-to-many join and a full outer join (although I think the latter files did happen to be sorted anyway).

Did you set a temporary directory, kgfrancis?
Phil Hibbs | Capgemini
Technical Consultant
rmh3
Participant

Post by rmh3 »

I'm having issues with the Merge stage as well. I received the Abnormal Termination message the first time, but now I'm seeing the one below. Unfortunately, I tried so many different things, I'm not sure which one switched the error message at this point.

tempDirStageStuDemogCateService2002up..soCATEStuDemogAB.IDENT1: Pin 1 not initialized