Page 1 of 1

sequence job within a sequence job

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:44 am
by smoffa
I have a sequence job, masterseq, that calls another sequence job, seq1. There are two output links on seq1 in masterseq with triggers set up as follows.

One link with a custom "success" trigger:

seq1.$jobstatus < 3

And the other link has a "Failed" trigger.

When seq1 fails the masterseq still follows the success link.

Can someone tell my what I'm doing wrong? This logic seems to work fine when seq1 is a call to a job (as opposed to a sequence job).

Is there another variable I should be looking at?


Thanks, Steve


Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:49 am
by Sainath.Srinivasan
What do you mean by 'sequence failed'? Does it imply that one job within the sub-sequence failed?

If yes, then that does not constitute failure of sequence. The sequence as such was asked to execute a job and so it did. There was no check put in place to act on whether the job completed successfully or otherwise. Hence as per the result, the sequence has finished its work 'successfully'.

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:13 am
by smoffa
Actually all the jobs within seq1 failed. Seq1 is a sequence job which runs the same job multiple times with different input files. Seq1 failed because it couldn't open the input files.

Okay, let me ask this question. In my masterseq, is there a variable that I can use to check if any jobs in my sub-sequence (seq1) failed?

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:17 am
by Sainath.Srinivasan
You can set the user-status of your sequence in your seq1 depending on success or failure of the job(s) under it and the logic you intend. You may be better-off checking the user status of the seq 1.

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:34 pm
by smoffa
Can you tell me how to set the user status?