Page 1 of 1

How can I get column information on a link with a routine

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 5:12 am
by dhwankim
Hi gurus.

I need to know column information on some link by subroutine.
but I could not reach that information.

If I got this column information. I'll made some Unix Shell code.

suppose that
job is coposited like that

sam stage(named Sam1) =====> 1stTransformationStage(T1) =====> 2ndTransformationStage(T2)=====>sam stage(T3)
Link1 Link2 Link3
I just wanted the columns(table definition) on Link3 at after-subroutine.

so I wrote code like below

$INCLUDE DSINCLUDE JOBCONTROL.H
$INCLUDE DSINCLUDE DSR_GETRTCONFIG.H
JOBNM="Test01"
JOBLINKMOD = DSGetLinkMetaData(JOBNM,"T2","Link3");
.................

But This function(DSGetLinkMetaData) did not returned the columns on Link3.

Who know about it.
What's wrong in my codes.

Please Figure out what is wrong.

Thank in Advance.

Dhwan Kim

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 7:17 am
by chulett
I'm not familiar with DSGetLinkMetaData (?) but none of them work by Job Name - they require a Job Handle, which is something entirely different.

You can do two things. Either use DSJ.ME for the handle to indicate the current running job or attach to the job first by using DSAttachJob and then use the resulting handle in your call. Don't forget to detach when you are done.

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:26 am
by chulett
mhester wrote:You are correct in calling the routine with jobname as this routine does not require a job handle.
Bummer. :cry: Couldn't find any reference to it in the help, and since the other DSGet* functions require it...

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 8:24 am
by newtier
DSGetLinkMetaData is referenced in the Server Job Developer's Guide, although the documentation is extremely weak!

Posted: Mon May 25, 2009 12:36 am
by ray.wurlod
In version 8 it's in the DataStage BASIC manual, but it's described with the wrong number of arguments. They left out the stage name.