Hash File Lookup

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

donlank
Charter Member
Charter Member

Hash File Lookup

Post by donlank »

I am new with Datastage.

I have a Hash file that has 4 columns that make a unique record. When looking up against the hash file with these four columns, I am able to return a surrogate key.

Now the problem....

Two of the columns are common to all records with in that group.

Column3 and Column4 will not always be Null, but for job i am trying to accomplish, they will be because other jobs are using the same hash file that need all 4 columns.

I.E.
_Key_ C1 _C2__ _C3_ __C4_
1234 | 1 | 0000 | NULL | NULL
5222 | 1 | 0001 | NULL | NULL
4421 | 1 | 0002 | NULL | NULL
2421 | 2 | 0000 | NULL | NULL
6314 | 2 | 0001 | NULL | NULL

Is there a way to get return a list from a Hash File?

I need all the Surr. Keys from a group.

i.e.
All Surr. Keys where C1 = '1' and C3 = 'Null';
I need to get the keys, 1234, 5222 and 4421 from the lookup.

All Surr. Keys where C2 = '2' and C3 = 'Null';
I need to get the keys: 2421 and 6314 from the lookup.

Is there a way to accomplish this?

Thanks,
Kevin
chucksmith
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by chucksmith »

Perhaps, you should make a new hash file with key columns C1 and C3, and a data column containing a delimited string of all of the surrogate keys associated with the key column pair. Use @VM as your delimiter.

Now your lookup will give you what you want. It is easy to build this hash file, just create a job that does a reference lookup and a write to the same hash file. DISABLE WRITE CACHE! The lookup gives you the current state of the row, or a NOTFOUND condition. Now you can set the surrogate key derivation to the incoming value or the lookup value : @VM : incoming value.