Row Counter

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

kalkavi
Participant

Row Counter

Post by kalkavi »

Hi,

I'm new to Datastage. All the time i was working in cobol and we are used to increment the variables and use them in control reports. Can we build something in datastage similar to that where we can increment a variable and use the vairable to write a control report. Please let me know if this is confusing.

Thanks for the help
Kalyan
KeithM
Participant

Post by KeithM »

Datastage does provide some system variable that may give you what you are looking for. @InRowNum and @OutRowNum will give you a count of the number of rows that come in and exit your process. You can also do it on your own using stage variables. If you have more detail on what you are trying to accomplish this forum could probably provide a better answer for you.
Keith
kalkavi
Participant

Post by kalkavi »

We have three load odbc stages. At the end of the job i need to write a control report which should show # of rows loaded in stage1 , stage2 stage3.

Thanks for the help
Kalyan
kalkavi
Participant

Post by kalkavi »

I tried using system variables. But the problem with that is counter is being added for each record. It does not summarize the value.

Thanks
Kalyan
KeithM
Participant

Post by KeithM »