Column name in Pivot Stage

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

kommven
Charter Member
Charter Member

Column name in Pivot Stage

Post by kommven »

Hello all,

I am trying to get "Column name" in derivation using Pivot stage. How can this be done?

Kommu

Eg:

SOURCE

Name, dept,sub1,sub2,sub3
joe,eng,5,5,7
Jim,dep,6,4,5
leo,gen,4,4,4

TARGET

Name,Dept,Sub,Marks
joe,eng,sub1,5
joe,eng,sub2,5
joe,eng,sub3,7
jim,dep,sub1,6
jim,dep,sub2,5
jim,dep,sub3,4
leo,gen,sub1,4
leo,gen,sub2,4
leo,gen,sub3,4
sumitgulati
Participant

Post by sumitgulati »

Do you mean you need to get "sub1", "sub2" and "sub3" in the pivot stage.
For this you need to add a Column say "Sub" in the output link and then hard code these values in the Derivation column seperated by a comma (,).

Have a group by on Name and Dept.

I have never tried this before but I guess it should work.

Regards,
Sumit
kommven
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by kommven »

Hard coding is of no use. I have came up with a solution, I am appending the name of column before every data (as Varchar) and after pivoting, I am again doing a if then else condition and seperating char and digits and using appro...

If anyone knows better solution please send it to me...
sumitgulati
Participant

Post by sumitgulati »

You can also try adding three column in the transformer stage prior to pivot stage and hard code their value to "sub1", "sub2" and "sub3". Then use these columns in the pivot stage.

This way you can get rid of the appending and seperating stuff.

Regards,
Sumit
kommven
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by kommven »

Adding 3 columns before Pivot stage with constant value and deriving them in Pivot stage worked fine,,,

Thanks for your advice...
KeithM
Participant

Post by KeithM »