Is Pick Basic still the programming language in PX?

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

rsorice
Participant

Is Pick Basic still the programming language in PX?

Post by rsorice »

We are currently looking for an ETL tool that meets our requirements, and DataStage is one of the front runners. Why I ask about Pick is that I have 20 years of experience in PICK, and was wondering if the latest version of DataStage is still running under UniVerse. While we are primarily an Oracle shop, we do have a group that supports our billing system which runs under UniData (I started with the company in this group, but switched to an Oracle group over a yeare ago), and I was hoping that having a team of PICK programmers would be a plus for choosing DataStage. If DataStage is still running under UniVerse, I would also like to know how helpful knowing PICK is in implementing it. One of our requirements is the ability to load massive amounts of data, so we will most likely be running PX. However I've read that PX uses a different architecture.

Any opinions are appreciated.

Thanks,

Rich Sorice
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

No. :wink:

Your BASIC and/or Universe knowledge will help you when working with Server jobs. Technically, DataStage Server jobs now run under the "DataStage Engine" and not Universe as there has been a code-split and they are actually seperate products with a common ancestor, but for all intents and purposes they are still the "same thing".

As for PX, you are correct in stating that it is an entirely different architecture, based on the Orchestrate product from Torrent which Ascential acquired or licensed. While you can use BASIC in PX via a special Stage, the language of choice there is C.

They are two completely different animals.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers