SEQUENCER running multiple jobs

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

rkumar28
Participant

SEQUENCER running multiple jobs

Post by rkumar28 »

Hi,

I have a Master job in a sequence(that does some inserts in a table). After succesfull completion it in turn starts the 5 other jobs simultaneuosly. There is one more job that has to be run ONLY after the sucessfull completion of all the five jobs. Is it possible to start the last job after the succesfull completion of the prior 5 jobs. Can we use SEQUENCER in this case.

Thanks
Raj
chucksmith
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by chucksmith »

Yes!

Using your sequencer:

job1 job activity stage links to a sequencer 1 with mode set to any or all (since this is only one job, both are the same)

Sequencer 1 has 5 output links to jobs 2-6 job activity stages.

Each job activity stage for jobs 2 - 6 output links to sequencer 2.

Set sequencer 2's mode to all.

The output link from sequencer 2 links to job 7 job activity stage.

All of the above mentioned job activity output links should have their Expression Type set to OK on the trigger tab.

Chuck
rkumar28
Participant

Post by rkumar28 »

Thanks Chuck for the quick response.

I should have asked it with my initial question. I have one related question to this. Please let me know if I should be posting this separately.

The Scenario is: