DataStage Job Automated Monitoring

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

fober
Participant

DataStage Job Automated Monitoring

Post by fober »

I am new to DataStage and I am looking for some pointers into what design options I may have in instrumenting a DataStage job for automated monitoring. Automated monitoring means we are not monitoring the DS Director GUI, but rather the job itself is instrumented (coded) to alert via an SNMP message out to a product such as Tivoli or NetIQ/MOM.

Some ideas I have (please shoot them down or correct me at will.)
Is there a command set that the DS BASIC language provides that would allow me to code in an SNMP event message if a certain condition or WARNING/FAILURE were to be raised in a job?
If not my belief is that I would be basically stuck to use COMMAND Stage implants into my JOB and JOB SEQUENCE designs that would provide condition "triggers" to the Job objects that would go off and run an snmp event generator program via the command line that we have written in-house. In fact that paradigm is in-use today within my Company (for other products), but I would prefer to move to something more integral to DataStage or something more elegant.

Could I use the WS Message Adapter in some way? What framework for SNMP event message passing does Ascential provide with their DataStage tool.

I have searched the entire dstage7.pdx (*cross index of the Ascential docs) and have found no hits on SNMP so I am a little concerned that a homegrown and kludgier method on my part may be needed.

Thanks for any insights in advance.
Frank Ober
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

Quick response.

Search for SMTP rather than SNMP.