How to pass stage variable onto after-stage subroutine

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Joshi.H
Participant

How to pass stage variable onto after-stage subroutine

Post by Joshi.H »

Hello,

I'm new to DataStage. I have a job, which compares to values in a Transformer and writes the result to a stage variable. I would like to pass this stage variable (meaning the value in it) onto a after-stage routine where a Call DSLogWarn is performed, if the value in the stage variable is not equal 0.

What do I have to put in the field "Input Value" where I select "After-Stage subroutine". The name of the stage variable is "Arg1".

Regards,

Joshi.
raju_chvr
Premium Member
Premium Member

Re: How to pass stage variable onto after-stage subroutine

Post by raju_chvr »

One way can be is write the Stage variable to a file and you can use that file as an input in the next stage.
Joshi.H
Participant

Re: How to pass stage variable onto after-stage subroutine

Post by Joshi.H »

Well, I simply would like to compare the number of rows which should have been transfered and the number of rows which have been transfered and if there is a difference I would like to write a Warning to the Log and make the Job stop. I do not want to use the variable in the next job, but the value of the variable in a routine where I would like to work with it.

Let me add something: I would like to pass the stage variable as an argument onto the routine.

Joshi.
kcbland
Participant

Post by kcbland »