Error on transform string from sequential file to SQL DB

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Kwang
Participant

Error on transform string from sequential file to SQL DB

Post by Kwang »

I'm very new to datastage so I hope somebody could help me solve this wierd problem.

I want to transform a string (length is 31characters) from a text file (sequential file stage) to a SQL database (OLEDB stage), the datatype of the target field in the target table is varchar(120). I got the following warning messages:

KWUntitled2..MS_OLEDB_2: OLE DB provider error: Connection failure

KWUntitled2..MS_OLEDB_2: OLE DB provider error: [DBNMPNTW]ConnectionWrite (GetOverLappedResult()).

KWUntitled2..MS_OLEDB_2: DSLink4:Array 1 has invalid row(s).

KWUntitled2..MS_OLEDB_2: OLE DB provider error HRESULT=0x80004005.

KWUntitled2..MS_OLEDB_2: DSLink4:Row 4 was rejected by OLE DB provider. dim_provider_id=71;provider_cd=0084;provider_legal_nm=xxxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxxxxx xxxxxx.

The record did not get through.

Once I changed the data to be a 30-character string, the job ran O.K. and the data is transformed to the sql database successfully.

What could be wrong with this? My job design? Or the sequential file stage setting?

Please give me some clues upon your experience.

Thanks in advance.
Kwang
Vipin
Participant

Post by Vipin »

Dear Wang,
Make sure that if you are using CAST function before inserting into the SQL DB , you specify the field length as well.
When field length is not specified with the CAST function, the default length is 30.

It is just a thought that you might be facing this problem I faced once 4-5 yrs back.

And please do reply , if this helps you.

Regards,
Manoj Mishra
Kwang
Participant

Post by Kwang »

Thanks Manoj,