Data Stage Scheduling Issue

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

yiminghu
Participant

Data Stage Scheduling Issue

Post by yiminghu »

Hi,

I am new to DataStage, and I have a question regarding to DataStage scheduling. Currently, I am participating a project which tries to convert hard-coded ETL to Datastage, but I've had this big issue about the scheduling. In our old system, the scheduler has lots of flexibility. Every time, it starts, the scheduler checks the table in source database to decide which data (all the data are date related ) is available to be processed. Then it inserts those dates into a table called job_process_date_list. In the second step, it fetched the rows from job_process_date_list, then for each date, it executes a bunch of stored procedure with the date as parameter. (The stored procedures name is stored in a table. ) until all the dates in job_process_date_list are processed. I am wondering how to implement such mechanism in DataStage.

Thanks,

Yiming
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by kduke »

Yiming

I would start with a job to copy the dates to process to a hash file or a sequential file. You need to create a batch job to read these dates and pass them as parameters to a job sequence which passes them to each job that need to run.

Example:

Job1:

select start_date from whatever -> transform -> hash1

Job2:
open "hash1" to hash1 else stop
read StartRec from hash1, "StartDate" then
... start SeqJob1 ...
end

SeqJob1:
... start all jobs passing parameter "StartDate"

Kim.

Kim.
Mamu Kim
Peytot
Participant

Post by Peytot »

Sure that if you use the option Schedule, you do not have flexibility. Also, You can program in Basic a program into DataStage which do what you want.