Retrieve First Row

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

sairam_2003
Participant

Retrieve First Row

Post by sairam_2003 »

Hi

I am new to DataStage... can someone help with my issue?

I am trying to find the address for all the clients and then
find the geometrical location based on zip code & zip code extension
from another table (TAB2).
Then insert the address and location into a new table.

The problem is when I lookup client zipcode with TAB2, multiple rows are returned. How can I just take the first row returned by the link?

I tried putting a constraint in the transformation, saying

(DSStageInRowNum = 1) and (link1.zipcde = link2.zipcode)

but it doesn't work.

Thanks for ur timely help.
Amos.Rosmarin
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by Amos.Rosmarin »

Hi,

If there is no need for a specific zipcode the easyest way is to take TAB2 and unload it into hash file when the client_id is the key.
The hash file will filter the duplicate addresses. Then do the lookup using the hash as reference link.

Anyway it's always a good practice to use hash files for lookups, it's usually much faster then doing a lookup from relational DB.

Amos
Peytot
Participant

Post by Peytot »

You can also use a variable in your stage transform when you compare the new value with your last value. One for compare value and the other for keeping the value like old value.

But like Amos said HashFile can be more easy.

Pey
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »