sequential reading from hash file

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Stef
Participant

sequential reading from hash file

Post by Stef »

Hi,
I'm new in Basic language. I would like to know how to implement the sequential reading of an hash file records. Every example I saw on hash file reading showed me the reading of records using the key.
I'll appreciate any kind of suggestion.
Thanks.

Stef.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

While I'm certainly no expert on this subject, I do believe this is the proper way to access hash files from DS BASIC. You are, in essence, getting the next key 'sequentially' and then using that key to fetch the appropriate data for that key.

You can optionally order things or use alternate indexes to bring things out in a different order (there should be posts here on the subject that search turns up), otherwise I believe the examples you must be looking at will do what you want.

Have you tried them? Are you seeing a different behaviour? Are you trying to ensure that records come out in the order they went in? [?] Not sure that's possible given the nature of hash files...

Please clarify for us what exactly you mean by 'sequential reading'.

-craig
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by kduke »

Stef