infinite running

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Nat
Participant

infinite running

Post by Nat »

Hi all,
I'm a beginner. I have troubles working with timestamp. I'm copying the content of the Employess table (only two rows), in another table, with the same structure. Just a data transfer, without any kind of transformation. The job is succeffully compiled but the running doesn't stop.
It happens every time there a timestamp field. I have tryed in two way:
- ORAOCI stage
- ODBC stage.
With ODBC it happens many time to have 00-000-00 as value for time stamp, even if I try to apply any kind of function to format it.

Ant kind of suggestion will be particularly appreciated. Thank you very much.
Best regards, Nat.
WoMaWil
Participant

Post by WoMaWil »

Hi Nat,

Timestamp is not easy. Oracle has to get the string like "2003-07-11 12:05:23" that is 'YYYY-MM-DD hh24:mi:ss". Use perhaps first Sequential as target for to be able that you did everything right and then use the table as target.

Wolfgang Huerter
=====================
Cologne, Germany
Nat
Participant

Post by Nat »

Hi Wolfgang,
first of all, thank you for your answer. The format you wrote me for Oracle is the same of the datastage project. If so, there should not be problems. But I noticed that when I look the Oracle table content I found DD-MMM-YY format. Is it simply a mask for visualization?
Bye the way, I also noticed that I have trouble with timestamp only if I use ODBC stage to write an Oracle table, instead of the Oracle stage.
Thank you for your suggestion about file target. It helped me much viewing what I were doing!