Page 1 of 1

Dimension of Job's Parameters

Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 8:01 am
by eoyylo
Hi,
i need to know how many characters (byte) are the max lenght of a Job's parameter (String).
Is it possible to use a different datatype longer than string for a very large parameter (approssimatively 30 Kb)?

thanks

Mario Loreti

Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 3:09 pm
by chulett
Ok, you've peaked my interest. [:)]

I don't know the answer to your question (probably depends on your o/s), but I am very curious to know in what kind of situation would you need to provide a parameter to a job that's 30kb? If you don't mind me asking...

Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:46 pm
by ray.wurlod
If NLS is enabled the nexus one character = one byte does not necessarily hold.
That said, the maximum size of a string literal (that is, a string constant enclosed in quotes) is documented as 255 bytes.
If, on the other hand, you create the string in a variable in a job control routine, then you incur no such limit; in fact the largest string you can have in DataStage BASIC is constrained primarily by the amount of memory you have available in which to store it. I have seen and used strings over 3MB in size (though not, it must be admitted, as job parameters).


Ray Wurlod
Education and Consulting Services
ABN 57 092 448 518

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 1:13 am
by eoyylo
Hi chulett,
i need a query user defined where the query must change between a run of the job and an another. A possible solution is to define a job's parameter with the query. The size of 30 KB is because the the max size of a varchar2 variable in PL/SQL is 32 KB.

Mario

quote:Originally posted by chulett
[br]Ok, you've peaked my interest. [:)]

I don't know the answer to your question (probably depends on your o/s), but I am very curious to know in what kind of situation would you need to provide a parameter to a job that's 30kb? If you don't mind me asking...

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 8:41 am
by chulett
Ok, that makes sense. [:)]

Your other solution in that case would be to set the stage to "User-defined SQL query file" and provide it a pathname. Then just make sure the query in the file is what you need it to be before the job runs.

-craig