Page 1 of 1

Count Of records

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:25 am
by dr.murthy
Hi ,

How to get a count of records in a file and process this count to next stage.

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:14 am
by Sreenivasulu
1.Open sequencer
2.use execute command activity
3.wc - l <file name>

Regards
Sreeni

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:32 am
by dr.murthy
Thanks for respond, i need to find count of records in a datastage server job

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 6:04 am
by ArndW
DataStage stages are designed so that they execute one row at a time, so your requested approach poses some difficulties so that it doesn't get executed once per row.

The best was has alread been suggested, to get the count in a job sequence and then pass that value as a parameter to your job.

In your case you might just read your file in a sequential stage, then perform an aggregation to get a row count and then pass that value on to the next stage.

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 6:57 am
by chulett
While you are reading/processing it? Aggregator. Before or afterwards? Sequence job as noted.

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 6:58 am
by dr.murthy
In aggregaator is possible to count number of records in a link??

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:01 am
by chulett
You would send a single non-null field down another link to the Aggregator and tell it to count that. Doesn't even have to be a "real" field, you could hard-code a value.

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:10 am
by dr.murthy
i need this count in a same link, lets mf src file have two fields A and B, then tgt contain three fileds A and B And C, aditional field contains Count of records passing on that link.

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:41 am
by Sreenivasulu
You can use @INROWNUM to get the rowcount

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 3:30 am
by dr.murthy
inrow num it doesnot give count the number of records

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:45 am
by chulett
'Count of records passing on that link'? That would always be 1 unless you are doing aggregation based on the two fields... are you? :?

If so, then an inline Aggregator can do the grouping and counting for you. If you need to do something else, then please be more specific in your problem description.

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 3:12 pm
by ray.wurlod
dr.murthy wrote:inrow num it doesnot give count the number of records
Yes it does.

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:24 pm
by chulett
ray.wurlod wrote:
dr.murthy wrote:inrow num it doesnot give count the number of records
Yes it does.
So far, and the last one has the total. :wink: