Page 1 of 1

In which directory we run dsjob command?

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:12 pm
by palak08
I want to run one sequence job through dsjob command. I want to put that syntax in another job's after job subroutine.
Now my question is in which directory I run dsjob command?

I apologize for this stupid question. I have done this earlier but it just slipped from mind.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:39 pm
by vinothkumar
/ibmdscode/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/bin

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:42 pm
by anbu
Use this command to find the path of dsjob

Code: Select all

find / -name 'dsjob' -print 2>/dev/null

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:43 pm
by palak08
I am using version 8.1. Is this the same ?
/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin
vinothkumar wrote:/ibmdscode/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/bin

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:45 pm
by anbu
palak08 wrote:I am using version 8.1. Is this the same ?
/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin
vinothkumar wrote:/ibmdscode/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/bin
Yes

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:48 pm
by palak08
Thanks for your reply.

I did this and found following directory:
/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin/dsjob

But when I ran dsjob command it says:
-bash: dsjob: command not found

I ran following command:
dsjob -run <projectname> <job name>

Any suggestion?
anbu wrote:Use this command to find the path of dsjob

Code: Select all

find / -name 'dsjob' -print 2>/dev/null

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:54 pm
by anbu
Attach full path to the command

Code: Select all

/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin/dsjob  -run <projectname> <job name> 

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:00 pm
by chulett
Or if you cd'd to the bin directory then you could use "dot slash":

Code: Select all

./dsjob -run <projectname> <job name> 
Or you could update your $PATH to include that bin directory and then it wouldn't matter where you were when you launched the command.

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:00 pm
by palak08
I logged in Unix and then changed directory to /IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin/ and then ran dsjob but it is giving me same error.
are there any settings need to be done to run dsjob?
anbu wrote:Attach full path to the command

Code: Select all

/IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/bin/dsjob  -run <projectname> <job name> 

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:21 pm
by palak08
It didn't work.
I got follwoing error:
./dsjob: error while loading shared libraries: libvmdsapi.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
chulett wrote:Or if you cd'd to the bin directory then you could use "dot slash":

Code: Select all

./dsjob -run <projectname> <job name> 
Or you could update your $PATH to include that bin directory and ...

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:34 pm
by anbu
Run this script before running dsjob

Code: Select all

. /IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/dsenv

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:39 pm
by palak08
I tried running
. /IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/dsenv

It says permission denied.
Is this something which is causing error while running dsjob.
anbu wrote:Run this script before running dsjob

Code: Select all

. /IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/dsenv

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:46 pm
by anbu
palak08 wrote:I tried running
. /IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/dsenv

It says permission denied.
Is this something which is causing error while running dsjob.
anbu wrote:Run this script before running dsjob

Code: Select all

. /IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/dsenv
Yes. Get the execute permission to dsenv file

Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:07 am
by Abhi700
Give the Permission for the file
./dsjob -run <projectname> <job name>