Slow running job

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Parcival
Participant

Slow running job

Post by Parcival »

Hi, I am new to DS so please forgive the naive question. I have a job which read and writes over 12 million rows which normally runs at over 1000 rows/sec but occasionally (apparently randomly) appears to run much slower at around 60 rows\sec (causing the job to run for over 9 hrs).

Can anyone suggest where I should begin to look to investigate the cause of this as there is no network issue and no other change in scheduled jobs running on the server.
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

Welcome aboard.

What's different about the system, and other systems, during the slow times? "Nothing" clearly is not the correct answer.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
mayura
Participant

Post by mayura »

ray.wurlod wrote:Welcome aboard.

What's different about the system, and other systems, during the slow times? "Nothing" clearly is not the correct answer.
what are the operations are u doing in jobs... please explain bit.. so we can find the solutions

:idea:
Mayura
Parcival
Participant

Post by Parcival »

Thanks for the swift response, Ray, Mayura.

Well, the scenario is that I have run the job during the day when it takes around 16 mins. At this time the load on the DS box and associated DB2 Data Warehouse is low-ish. When the same job runs in the same place in its scheduled spot at around 23:00, when a number of other jobs are running (but not against the same tables), the run time has been 9 hrs.