Page 1 of 1

search variable

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:58 pm
by lak4u
Hi,

any way to search a DataStage project to find all the jobs where a project variable is being used?

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:00 pm
by chulett
Export it and then search the .dsx file.

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:09 am
by DS_SUPPORT
Kim Duke has posted this query very long back

Code: Select all

SELECT 
   DS_JOBS.NAME AS JOB_NAME, 
   DS_JOBS.CATEGORY, 
   DS_JOBOBJECTS.NAME AS OBJECT_NAME, 
   DS_JOBOBJECTS.OLETYPE, 
   EVAL DS_JOBOBJECTS."if index(upcase(@RECORD),'YOUR SEARCH STRING',1) > 0 then 'FOUND' else ''" AS FOUND FMT '5L'
FROM 
   DS_JOBS, 
   DS_JOBOBJECTS 
WHERE 
   DS_JOBS.JOBNO = DS_JOBOBJECTS.OBJIDNO 
   and FOUND = 'FOUND'
GROUP BY
   JOB_NAME, 
   DS_JOBS.CATEGORY, 
   OBJECT_NAME, 
   DS_JOBOBJECTS.OLETYPE, 
   FOUND
;


Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:22 am
by lak4u
chulett wrote:Export it and then search the .dsx file.
Thank you Chulett

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:23 am
by lak4u
Thanks for info.Where do I execute this?
DS_SUPPORT wrote:Kim Duke has posted this query very long back

Code: Select all

SELECT 
   DS_JOBS.NAME AS JOB_NAME, 
   DS_JOBS.CATEGORY, 
   DS_JOBOBJECTS.NAME AS OBJECT_NAME, 
   DS_JOBOBJECTS.OLETYPE, 
   EVAL DS_JOBOBJECTS."if index(upcase(@RECORD),'YOUR SEARCH STRING',1) > 0 then 'FOUND' else ''" AS FOUND FMT '5L'
FROM 
   DS_JOBS, 
   DS_JOBOBJECTS 
WHERE 
   DS_JOBS.JOBNO = DS_JOBOBJECTS.OBJIDNO 
   and FOUND = 'FOUND'
GROUP BY
   JOB_NAME, 
   DS_JOBS.CATEGORY, 
   OBJECT_NAME, 
   DS_JOBOBJECTS.OLETYPE, 
   FOUND
;


Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:03 am
by chulett
From the Administrator's command window or at a TCL prompt, making sure you are connected to the proper project. Use LOGTO if you are unsure.

Code: Select all

cd $DSHOME
. ./dsenv 
./bin/dssh
LOGTO <YourProject>
Or you can skip the LOGTO if you launch the session from the Project in question:

Code: Select all

cd $DSHOME
. ./dsenv 
cd <YourProject>
$DSHOME/bin/dssh
ps. If you ever start a session and it tells you the directory is 'not set up' for DataStage and asks if you want to do that - say NO. It means you are launching from the wrong place, it needs to be done from $DSHOME or a Project directory.

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:42 pm
by lak4u
chulett wrote:From the Administrator's command window or at a TCL prompt, making sure you are connected to the proper project. Use LOGTO if you are unsure.

Code: Select all

cd $DSHOME
. ./dsenv 
./bin/dssh
LOGTO <You ...[/quote]

Thank you Chulett.Now I am able to do it from DS Admin Commend

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:09 pm
by ray.wurlod
The Administrator client Command window does not permit execution of a LOGTO command.

A number of other commands, such as HELP, are also blocked, perhaps because they require terminal handling characteristics, perhaps because they are dangerous (for example QUIT).