Page 1 of 1

Newline in Basic Routine (calling Teradata bteq)

Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:15 am
by shershahkhan
Hi,
I am trying to do the following in Routine

sFirst = '.logon server/user, password;'
sSecond = 'Select Date;'
sThird = '.logoff;'

sFinal = sFirst : [newline] :sSecond : [newline] : sThird

How can i make a string so that i can insert a newline character inb between, and then i can pass it to Teradata.

Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:45 am
by ray.wurlod

Code: Select all

vNL = Char(10)

sFinal = sFirst : vNL :sSecond : vNL : sThird 

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:33 am
by harish_s_ampeo
I am also facing the same issue... the nVL is not working for me..
In the unix, the input command just logs me in but doesnt execute the sql as nVL is not working...

Please can u tell me the resolution for this

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:39 am
by chulett
By going back to your own post on the topic and not jumping into anything you can find where Teradata is mentioned. Post there what you are trying and what isn't working about it.