Page 1 of 1

Commit

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:29 am
by cosec
Hello

I have a source file with 5 records......and the 5th record contains an error.

Array Size= 1
Transaction size =5


I am expecting the transaction to be rolled back due to the error in the 5th record but the other 4 records are committed....

How do I set it up such tha all records are committed if not nothing...??

Please advice ...Thanks

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:52 am
by DS_SUPPORT
Try Setting the Transaction Size to 0, it means either all records will be commited, Else Nothing will be commited.

May be this wont be Suitable for Large Volume of records.

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:56 am
by cosec
Tried the suggestion (Transaciton Size=0 ) and yet it commits

DS_SUPPORT wrote:Try Setting the Transaction Size to 0, it means either all records will be commited, Else Nothing will be commited.

May be this wont be Suitable for Large Volume of records.

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:00 am
by DS_SUPPORT
What do you mean by Error in 5th record?

Is it a Lookup fail or Something which the job doesnt abort?

Try to abort the Job if you find any error, then only the Transaction Size=0 will work.

But, Wait for the experts reply.

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:22 am
by cosec
I placed an incorrect data type in the 5th record....so that it will reject the record.....
DS_SUPPORT wrote:What do you mean by Error in 5th record?

Is it a Lookup fail or Something which the job doesnt abort?

Try to abort the Job if you find any error, then only the Transaction Size=0 will work.

But, Wait for the experts reply.

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 7:38 am
by chulett
Regardless of your settings, your job must abort to rollback any uncommited records at the time of the abort.

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:23 pm
by gateleys
Run your job with your original settings of Array Size = 1 and Commit = 5 and the 5th row in error. But make sure you set the 'Abort job after' to 1 warning.

The end result should be that nothing is written to the database.