Page 1 of 2

Invacation ID

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:45 pm
by kaps
We have a Job sequence which calls a Multi-Instance server job. We are calling this job 8 times by passing
different Invocation ID's at the same time. But two of those jobs does not get the Invocation_ID which is causing one job to fail.

I don't understand why it's not picking up the Invocation_Id's.

Is there any limitations on how many jobs we can kick off at the same time ?

Please advise.

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:53 pm
by roy
Hi,
The only limit is your resources, but going over the capabilities of your server CPU-wise might result in jobs failing when they should not fail.

How exactly are you calling the multiple jobs?
There should be no problem as for asigning your invocation id to the multiple instance jobs, unless it is a bug in your design/programing.

IHTH (I Hope This Helps),

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:43 pm
by kaps
My job design is given below...

SeqAct1---->SeqAct2

In SeqAct1, I am calling that multi-instance job giving the Invocation ID

Server has 8 cpu's. what am I missing ?

Thanks

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:30 pm
by ray.wurlod
What are you giving as the invocation ID values?

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:05 pm
by kaps
Invocation ID's are just a string....few cases seperated underscore...

XXXXXX
XXXX_XX
XXXXX
XXXXXX
XXXXx_XX
XXXXX

Anything wrong with this ?

Thanks

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:31 pm
by ray.wurlod
Provided that they are all distinct values, no. Your examples do not form a distinct set, though I understand that you have obfuscated the actual values. XXXXXX appears twice for example. So does XXXXX. If the same invocation ID is given twice (or more) the first instance will start but the second and later instances will fail to start, returning an error "job is already running".

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:07 pm
by kaps
Ray

I just gave some examples. Invocation ID's are unique.

I am getting the following error while running the Master sequencer job.
edw_intagm_Intrmdy_Agrmnt_Queue_seq..JobControl (@ja_edw_common_ClearStopQMsg): Controller problem: Error calling DSRunJob(edw_common_ClearStopQMsg), code=-2
[Job is not in the right state (compiled and not running)]
This problem happens I believe when the Master Sequence trying to start the Multi-instance job without passing Invocation ID's.

I appreciate any help..

Thanks

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:22 pm
by ArndW
Kaps - that error happens when you try to run a job that is running; which means that your Invocation ID is not unique.

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:23 pm
by JoshGeorge
Controller problem: Error calling DSRunJob - Is because - edw_common_ClearStopQMsg - this job is not in a runable state. You have to do a re-set and run. Check if your compiled base job was called previously and currently not in runnable state or a perticular instance was aborted and you are trying to invoke the job with the same invocation id.

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:37 pm
by ArndW
JoshGeorge - in the context of the user working with instanciation, the job is almost certainly not "runnable" because it is already running; not because it aborted on the last run.

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:08 pm
by ray.wurlod
You should have mentioned the -2 error code (DSJE.BADSTATE) earlier!

Do you invoke your jobs with "reset if required, then run" in the job sequence?

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:18 pm
by JoshGeorge
ArndW - Missed the -2 part.
Finding is right, invoking the job with a different invocation id should resolve the issue.

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 10:20 am
by kaps
Ray

No. I just have the execute option of RUN.
Am I missing something there ?

Thanks

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:58 pm
by ArndW
The "reset if required" will do exactly that, reset a job if the previous run has failed so that it is in a runnable state. It won't help you if are trying to re-run an instance that is already running, but worth changing nonetheless.

Re: Invacation ID

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:34 pm
by sanath1234
kaps wrote:We have a Job sequence which calls a Multi-Instance server job. We are calling this job 8 times by passing
different Invocation ID's at the same time. But two of those jobs does not get the Invocation_ID which is causing one job to fail.

I don't understand why it's not picking up the Invocation_Id's.

Is there any limitations on how many jobs we can kick off at the same time ?

Please advise.
After going thru all yur conversations job u disigned is only using one cpu .