Page 1 of 1

Job Creating Table Lock

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:21 am
by cosec
I have two output links going to two separate Db2 stages but referring to the same table.

I have 21 records going through the transformer.

The Settings For the Db2 Stages are as follows:-

(1)For the Target Db2 stage 1 (which deletes):
Array Size = 1
Transaction size 1

(2)For the Target Db2 Stage 2 (which Inserts):
Array Size = 10
Transaction size 20

When I run...the table gets locked... I assume its to do with the commit. To what values should I set the Array size and Transaction size
in order for it run successfully without causing Table Locks ?

Re: Job Creating Table Lock

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:37 am
by sachin1
i have a similar case but it is for insert and update i have a values like Array Size : 1500 and Transaction Size: 50 which works fine for lakhs of records, you can try it out.

Re: Job Creating Table Lock

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:39 am
by kris
Did you try 'Transaction size 1' for both Delete & Insert?
It will slow down the job but if your volumes are small, should be okay.

Otherwise you need to think about some other approach.

Re: Job Creating Table Lock

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:15 pm
by cosec
Yes Kris...tried it but then it inserts only one record
kris wrote:Did you try 'Transaction size 1' for both Delete & Insert?
It will slow down the job but if your volumes are small, should be okay.

Otherwise you need to think about some other approach.

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 8:11 pm
by abhi989
one approach could be you send 1 set of records from transformer to the DB2 table and the other set of records you can dump it into a sequential file. Then take the file and process against the DB2 table in a second job.