Page 1 of 1

Setting order of execution of two different flow in a single

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:42 am
by shaonli
There is two different flow in a single job.
One flow is populating to the parent table.
Second flow is populating to the child table.

I want to execute the parent flow first and then the child flow.

src->tfm->parent table
scr->tfm->child table

Please suggest.

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:55 am
by ArndW
If they are independant in the job then you cannot control the execution order. If you need to do so, split the logic into 2 jobs and call them from a job sequence.

Re: Setting order of execution of two different flow in a si

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 3:04 am
by Abu@0403
shaonli wrote:There is two different flow in a single job.
One flow is populating to the parent table.
Second flow is populating to the child table.

I want to execute the parent flow first and then the child flow.

src->tfm->parent table
scr->tfm->child table

Please suggest.
If you can change the job, then do this way.

src->tfm->parent table-->tfm-->scr->tfm->child table

Just do not pass anything in the transformer marked in red.
But this is not a good way of coding.

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:58 am
by chulett
Then don't suggest it. :wink:

Two jobs, run in the proper RI order by a Sequence job or using whatever you've got for job control there.

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 7:02 am
by gateleys
I would not try anything funky, but just go with 2 jobs, as Arnd suggested.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 4:10 am
by Abu@0403
I agree that its not a good way.

But the requirement he specified is that he needs to do that in a single job.

If sequencer is to be used then the job should be split into two.

So I could'nt get any other solution other than trying this one. If what I have mentioned is a very bad suggetion, then please excuse me.

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 4:38 pm
by ray.wurlod
:idea:
Always push back on illogical requirements.