Page 1 of 1

How to check size for hash file

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:09 pm
by lokesh_chopade
I want to check the size of hash file created, if it is of 32 or 64 bit? need any command or any properties to look into?

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:17 pm
by ray.wurlod
There are quite a few. Probably the easiest is UVFIXFILE, which can't handle 64-bit hashed file.
uvfixfile -f pathname -t 1

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:13 am
by lokesh_chopade
Thanks Ray.

But how to execute command i.e. the hash file (D_ABC_SHF) is located at /DatastageProject/GrpCreditDM_GBCDU_SYS/GrpCRDGBCDU_SYS

I have tried as

# uvfixfile -f /DatastageProject/GrpCreditDM_GBCDU_SYS/GrpCRDGBCDU_SYS -t 1

but no output.

Please advice.

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 4:06 am
by ray.wurlod
If the exit status ( $? ) is 0, the file was traced and is 32-bit.

If the exit status is non zero there will be output.

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 5:36 am
by Das
Execute the below command in Unix prompt

od -x /DirPath/HshFileName/DATA.30 | head -1

Will give you the following result

0000000 acef 010c 0000 001e 0000 0000 0000 0001

The bold word shows it is a 32 bit hashed file .
If it is 64 bit hashed file it will show 020c, insted of 010c

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:48 am
by lokesh_chopade
Thanks All.

My problem is now resolved.

Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:54 am
by veera24
Das wrote:Execute the below command in Unix prompt

od -x /DirPath/HshFileName/DATA.30 | head -1

Will give you the following result

0000000 acef 010c 0000 001e 0000 0000 0000 0001

The bold word shows it is a 32 bit hashed file .
If it is 64 bit hashed file it will show 020c, insted of 010c
Hi all,

Sorry to ask a question in this after a very long time. I just wanted know. that's why i'm asking.

When i'm executing the command mentioned above in my Unix box, it gave me an error
"od: invalid option -- /" .

But when i tried without -x in the command its giving me the output but not in the format as stated above.

Kindly advice.

Your time would be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Veera...

Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:48 am
by ray.wurlod
The pathname needs to be quoted - Windows O/S thinks the "/" is a switch.

Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:39 am
by veera24
ray.wurlod wrote:The pathname needs to be quoted - Windows O/S thinks the "/" is a switch. ...
Thanks Ray. Its all because of Space in between the -x and the diratory path. I just gave space in between them and i got the output.

Thanks for your time.

Thanks,
Veera