Creating 64 bit hash file

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Das
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: india

Creating 64 bit hash file

Post by Das »

Hi All,
I wanted to create a Hashfile which can handle more than 4GB of data for look up pupose.Currently we are using 32 bit [default]hash file which can handle only upto 2GB of data .So for handing more data i think i should to create 64 bit hash file

Plese give me your valuble suggestions in this regards or any alternative solution.

Thanks in advance.
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Das,

in order to store appreciably more than 2Gb in a hashed file you will, as you have already presumed, need to create a 64bit file. This cannot be done via the graphical front end, you will need to enter the administrator command line or the UV shell and issue a "CREATE.FILE {filename} DYNAMIC 64BIT" for a local file.

There are many posts in this forum regarding creating 64BIT files with additional information.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Search the forums for 64BIT to get the information you seek.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Das
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: india

Post by Das »

ArndW wrote:Das,

in order to store appreciably more than 2Gb in a hashed file you will, as you have already presumed, need to create a 64bit file. This cannot be done via the graphical front end, you will need ...
Could you expalain this process?How we can create the 64 bit hash file internally
Das
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: india

Post by Das »

ArndW wrote:Das,

in order to store appreciably more than 2Gb in a hashed file you will, as you have already presumed, need to create a 64bit file. This cannot be done via the graphical front end, you will need ...
Could you expalain this process?How we can create the 64 bit hash file internally
Das
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: india

Post by Das »

Could you expalain this process?How we can create the 64 bit hash file internally
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

chulett wrote:Search the forums for 64BIT to get the information you seek.
The answer to your question is in Craig's reply that I quoted.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Das
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: india

Post by Das »

ArndW wrote:Das,

in order to store appreciably more than 2Gb in a hashed file you will, as you have already presumed, need to create a 64bit file. This cannot be done via the graphical front end, you will need ...
I have used

RESIZE MyHashFileName * * * 64BIT
USING /ABC/PQR/InputDir


in DS Admistrator command
But it is giving an error "Invalid File Name sizing parameter or option on command line"

here " MyHashFileName "the name of the hash file i have created and "ABC/PQR/InputDir"is the path in which i keep the file

Please help me out why the error is coming..
Das
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: india

Post by Das »

ArndW wrote:Das,

in order to store appreciably more than 2Gb in a hashed file you will, as you have already presumed, need to create a 64bit file. This cannot be done via the graphical front end, you will need ...
I have used

RESIZE MyHashFileName * * * 64BIT
USING /ABC/PQR/InputDir


in DS Admistrator command
But it is giving an error "Invalid File Name sizing parameter or option on command line"

here " MyHashFileName "the name of the hash file i have created and "ABC/PQR/InputDir"is the path in which i keep the file

Please help me out why the error is coming..
Das
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: india

Post by Das »

ArndW wrote:Das,

in order to store appreciably more than 2Gb in a hashed file you will, as you have already presumed, need to create a 64bit file. This cannot be done via the graphical front end, you will need ...
I have used

RESIZE MyHashFileName * * * 64BIT
USING /ABC/PQR/InputDir


in DS Admistrator command
But it is giving an error "Invalid File Name sizing parameter or option on command line"

here " MyHashFileName "the name of the hash file i have created and "ABC/PQR/InputDir"is the path in which i keep the file

Please help me out why the error is coming..
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Refer here.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Does a VOC pointer exist for MyHashFileName ?

It's hashed file, by the way, not hash file.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Das
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: india

Post by Das »

ray.wurlod wrote:Does a VOC pointer exist for MyHashFileName ?

It's hashed file, by the way, not hash file. ...
Thanks a lot.
I dont have any idea about VOC pointer
Could you tell how i can check that.
Das
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: india

Post by Das »

ray.wurlod wrote:Does a VOC pointer exist for MyHashFileName ?

It's hashed file, by the way, not hash file. ...
I have the idea how to create VOC pointer .I used the foillowing command to establish the VOC pointer

SETFILE /ABC/PQR MyHashFile OVERWRITING

after exicuting the command i got the following messege
*** Warning ***
The DICT file path name "/ABC/D_PQR"does not exist
Pointer "MyHashFile" established in VOC file"

Please suggest why it is showing this warning,Actually the given path for the file is" /ABC/PQR " but in warning its showing "/ABC/D_PQR" .. [see D_PQR]

Then i exicuted the resize command
RESIZE MyHashFile * * * 64BIT

but it is giving the same error "RESIZE : Invalid file name,sizing parameter, or option on command line "
please suggest ..[/b]
hamzaqk
Participant
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:50 am
Location: islamabad

Post by hamzaqk »

FOR VOC ENTRY............

SETFILE

: PHYSICAL PATH INCLUDING FILE NAME
: VOC ENTRY NAME
Y
DONE


FOR RESIZING..........


RESIZE [DICT] [filename] [type] [modulo] [separation]
[ CONCURRENT | INPLACE | USING partition] [64BIT | 32BIT]
Post Reply