Page 1 of 2

.uvconfig not found

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:52 am
by mystuff
I got the error
Failed to connect to host: ...
(User name and/or password incorrect(80011))
Making use of search, I followed the following steps.

a) User Name/password are correct
b) unable to login from different client application as well.
c) I can ping to the server.
d) The port 31538 is not blocked.
e) Unable to login through DataStage Administrator.


When I do

Code: Select all

cd `cat /.dshome`
. ./dsenv
works fine till here, but fails when

Code: Select all

bin/uvsh
gives error

Code: Select all

/opt/dsadm/DataStage/DSEngine/.uvconfig: No such file or directory
Not only (.uvconfig) that our admin said that other files (not known to me right now) are as well missing in DSEngine (I am sure no one accessed the directory to delete them). As I was the only person using it and was running through designer.

How could this have happened? Any clues.

The only new thing which was done was that I ran almost 45 -60 jobs simultaneously.

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:24 am
by ray.wurlod
The only thing that could have happened for this symptom to occur is that someone, or some thing, has deleted these files.

If uvconfig and bin/uvregen exist you could try regenerating the .uvconfig file. Let us know whether that's the case.

Otherwise restore your DataStage engine directory from backup. This is why you've been taking these backups!

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:58 am
by mystuff
someone or some thing has deleted these files.
I am sure no one has deleted the files, as I was the only one using through Designer.

Anything ideas what could be that something, so that we will try to make sure such things don't happen.

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:15 am
by ray.wurlod
Stop being so certain.

The some thing might be an automated "cleanup" script or a disk utility gone slightly haywire.

My money would still be on someone rather than something.

Getting them to admit it is a whole different game.

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:02 am
by mystuff
Even the backup didnt work. what shall we do now?

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:34 am
by DSguru2B
Can't you regenerate it? :roll:

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:37 am
by mystuff
I checked for uvconfig and bin/uvregen .

They don't exists in the directory. So what shall I do next?

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:38 am
by crouse
Does the file ".uvconfig.bak" still exist in the install directory? If so, you can start the process of creating a new .uvconfig from that.

To be certain, cd to the install directory and issue this command "ls -al .uv*"
(without the quotes, of course)

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:53 am
by mystuff
I made a

Code: Select all

 ls -al uv* in 
DSEngine directory and got the following results

uvconfig.101005.152944.bak
uvconfig.20060308
uvodbc.config

a) How can I recover from backup file
b) Will it solve the problem of other pertaining files as well?

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:53 am
by mystuff
I made a

Code: Select all

 ls -al uv* in 
DSEngine directory and got the following results

uvconfig.101005.152944.bak
uvconfig.20060308
uvodbc.config

a) How can I recover from backup file
b) Will it solve the problem of other pertaining files (such as uvconfig and bin/uvregen) as well?

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:00 am
by crouse
I said "ls -al .uv*"

you missed the dot in front of the uv

subtle, but necessary

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:14 am
by mystuff

Code: Select all

ls -al .uv*
didn't result in any files

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:32 am
by crouse
Bummer, dude.

Better hunker down and get a backup of your project directory(s) ASAP.

Save off the backup and it looks a re-install is in order.

Best to check with your support provider first before doing the re-install. But get the backup done first.

Once you reinstall, create a project(s) named as they were before "the crash" and then you can copy the backup over those new projects. Have your support provider give you steps for this part.

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:59 am
by ray.wurlod
mystuff wrote:Even the backup didnt work. what shall we do now?
Don't "they" take system backups? If not, ur skrood (as "they" say). Time to re-install.

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:40 am
by mystuff
They do take backups. Strangely when the system admin restored the backup (from the date when DS was working). Even they didn't have the files. I am following sys admin as to why that could happen.

ray.wurlod
disk utility gone slightly haywire
Can you explain me this, as I am concerned as to why the restored backup would not have files.