Page 1 of 2

how to locate a job in the repository

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:34 am
by karthikgk0705
Hi All,
I have around 5000 jobs in my project.
How do I find out / locate a job ?
I dont have the category structure in which it lies.
Jus hava the job name.
Do we have any such way?

(something like ctrl+f that we use for text doc)

Please let me know.
Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:39 am
by narasimha
You can locate it by using this command in the DS administrator -

Code: Select all

SELECT NAME, CATEGORY FROM DS_JOBS WHERE NAME = 'JOB_NAME' ;
Search for alternate ways.

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:40 am
by DSguru2B
They are alphabetically placed. Go for a visual view. There is no find option.

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:50 am
by narasimha
karthikgk0705 wrote: (something like ctrl+f that we use for text doc)
Export your jobs to a .dsx/.xml file and search for the 'job name', similar to searching in a text file.

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:51 am
by DSguru2B
narasimha, I think the OP is concerned more in finding the job in the designer in order to open/edit/run it. Analogous to finding a link on a website with 5000 links. A simple find and click. Unfortunately such a thing is not present in DataStage.

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:56 am
by narasimha
Thats right, it would be a nice feature (In fact a basic feature which any product should have).
I was trying to get close to help the OP with the Control-F functionality :wink:

Re: how to locate a job in the repository

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:09 am
by gateleys
Use a UV stage with the user-defined SQL -

Code: Select all

SELECT DS_JOBS.NAME, DS_JOBS.CATEGORY FROM DS_JOBS WHERE DS_JOBS.NAME = <Your_Job_Name>;
This will list each job with its category. You may order it by Jobname.

gateleys

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:09 pm
by ray.wurlod
There is a Search facility in Director. You can also disable the view of categories and sort by job name in Director status view.

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:28 pm
by narasimha
Found another way -

In DS Director -> View -> Filter Entries
You have options to include or exclude Job names, works with the wild character '*'
You need to disable the category View though.
(Ray, Thanks for pointing in the right direction)

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:46 pm
by karthikgk0705
Hey Guys,
Dir->View option is working fantastically.

Thanks all for ur efforts.

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:30 pm
by kumar_s
Hope you can mark the topic as resolved.

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:40 am
by DSguru2B
Now that is something I hardly use. Get to learn something new every time from this website.

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:51 am
by chulett
Yah, it's called a Filter. :wink:

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:54 am
by DSguru2B
Guess I always banked on organizing the jobs in different categories and sub categories and never ran into sucha problem. But if I do, Ill know what to do :wink:

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:46 pm
by kumar_s
chulett wrote:Yah, it's called a Filter. :wink:
By this time readers will know, who is wild and crazy. :lol: